The Discovery of The Meaning of Life, The Universe, & Everything | A True and Enlightening Short Story Based on the Logic of Cryptocurrency

in #life7 years ago (edited)


 


It’s not every day you discover the meaning of life whilst staring at trading graphs on an exchange. I thought I had already figured it out over many long nights and years of deep and meaningful discussions with my school friends. Actually I didn’t really discover the meaning of life, It just sort of happened!    

So there I was reading the graphs, and a few really normal and simple thoughts passed through my mind. I was trying to understand how this whole Cryptocurrency thing worked exactly and what everything meant. I was new at trading on exchanges, but had been studying hard on YouTube and learning how to read candles and trends and such things. I seemed to have figured it out! At least well enough that I was able to place buy and sell orders without fear of totally messing it up and giving away all my money! How easily can that happen! I was looking at the Bitcoin Vs USD Tether Chart. Things we’re looking good! I could see lots of happy looking  green candles with up trending wicks,  and overall it just seemed to keep rising week on week, despite people saying it probably has hit a very strong resistance level. I was very happy as a newbie trader and was gaining more and more confidence in the whole Cryptocurrency world as I continued to trade and also learn about all the Alt Coins.    

I had already learned about Ethereum (ETH), and had a few of them. The more I read about ETH, the more I was becoming an Ethereum fan. I could see the great potential, and what was happening in the news with ETH was too great to ignore … It was time to buy  some more ETH! So I swapped my chart to the Bitcoin Vs Ethereum chart. This was one of the first times I had bought ETH on the exchange markets. I didn’t really understand the fundamentals of how all this trading worked and wasn’t used to dealing with other Crypto Currencies. Until that time, I was very familiar with viewing the value of Bitcoin against the Dollar. Those numbers made sense to me and I knew what they meant. But now I was viewing the rate of Bitcoin against Ethereum and the numbers all looked very different! I noticed this and thought, Oh I don’t really know what these numbers mean now. Up until now I’ve been valuing bitcoin against the dollar. I had thought that I had been valuing the Bitcoin itself by saying it was worth 1,200 USD. But no suddenly I realized that actually I was viewing the rate of Bitcoin against the Dollar and that number only made sense against the dollar. So I said to myself, OK now this is what Bitcoin is worth against Ethereum then.. It’s a different value, because It’s pitched against a different currency so that makes sense, Ill just have to get used to these new values.   

So whilst digesting this new graph and looking how ETH was performing, which was also REALLY well, I had another thought. I thought to myself, SO…  THEN CAME THE IMPORTANT QUESTION!   

What is Bitcoin worth on its own then?   

At first this question didn’t make much sense to me. I couldn’t seem to wrap my head around the value of Bitcoin without having the Dollar or Ethereum to compare it to. Then out of nowhere the number 1 popped into my head. YES, 1. The value of Bitcoin on its own is 1. Logically speaking 1 Bitcoin = 1 Bitcoin so that made sense even if it seemed pointless to do so. Then I thought some more about it as something felt weird or incomplete about it. I thought to myself, what if the value of Bitcoin doubled!? What would it be worth then? My brain motors churned away and the bell rang. The answer was again 1. It seemed to make sense that even when Bitcoin doubled it was still worth 1, because 1 Bitcoin is always worth 1 Bitcoin. Now two questions came to my mind. One was whether I could even value Bitcoin on its own, and the other was whether it could even double. If its value is still one then it can’t double can it?! It seemed like there was nothing even to double if there was nothing else to compare it to. Whatever happened, logically speaking, the value of Bitcoin would always be the same, even if it changed!!?!

What an unlikely and strange paradox?! What was going on!? How could this be? Is this actually true, or the result of over logical thinking? Then I was quiet for a bit. I just left that thought for a while and closed the computer. I couldn’t seem to really get past this realisation or know what it meant.    It was now 17:30 and time for me to do my Qi Gong practice that I have recently been getting into. I had been trying to get into a good daily routine for a long time, and now I had finally managed to get into the habit of doing it twice a day. Even to the extent that I can close my computer and stop trading to do it! Now there’s progress! After I finished my 25 minute routine I then made myself sit for 10 minutes. I either meditate, or I try to meditate. Either way I make myself sit and at the very least listen to my thoughts. The Qi Gong session was really nice, and I had gotten into it more than usual this time. I was feeling really calm and my mind was pretty quiet for once, enough that I could feel some space around me! So whilst I was sitting like that, the next thought came to me!  

This is why you were created!
This is why you are here!
This is the meaning of life!!!

Huh? I got the answer before I really understood the question properly. Very quickly then it revealed itself to me. The Universe was created so that the ‘supreme 1’ could learn to value itself and evolve. If we didn’t have all the different people, views, opinions, religions, ideas, and cultures that we have, then there would be no way for the ‘Supreme 1’ to know itself. There would be nothing to compare itself to, since there would be only 1 and always 1. The ‘supreme 1’ could not grow or even know itself without creating the myriad of life that we see and know today.  

WOW!   
I had to let that sink in a bit It’s really true! It really made perfect sense. It allowed me a feeling of acceptance of everything that happens, in a way that I hadn’t felt before. It gave me this beautiful view of the world form a perspective I had never had before.    

If I was alone in this world I would be nothing. It is only with you here to share and compare my life with, that my life has any meaning or value at all. Therefore, I should accept all the things in this world, even the things I don’t like, because without them I would be nothing, or 1!   

The Universe is a great mystery.
So is our mind!
Where DO our thoughts come from!

Om.      

Sort:  

Hi, best friend. you forgot me. I give flag you a present for in the life.
Luck bad for your whole life. You crazy dog the whole life.
Bad Dream every night.

Your pictures copyright. Video and pictures copyright. Don't voting for @eco-alex dog.

I love this post - very in depth thoughts about life and I totally agree. We put value on everything and we need something to compare it with to understand different values. Great work!

thank u! it just had to come out! im happy people dont think im totally mad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90