You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earthships & Self-sufficiency. Journey of discovery Part III: Super Adobe Architecture and beyond (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago

SO good to read your journey! I m TOTALLY into earthbag also.. My new idea is to hybrid earthship and earthbag which will give great performance with very low cost. I had no idea you were into this too!

and CONGRATS on such a good post!

Sort:  

Thanks brotherman...It feels so good to get this journey down on paper and share it with such an inspiring community of people!
I can't believe (figure of speech) that you are also into the idea of merging Super-Adobe and Earthship techniques! It's something I have deliberated on as a building design for some time now. I like the idea of merging the domes and the greenhouse systems and using the earthbags as retaining walls.
I wonder if we can work together on some research and test projects sometime in the future?

I believe the combination of these two building systems has some amazing advantages: Earth-bags need some type of foundation, whether rocks, concrete, or pounded tires. Building the entire wall of tires, however, takes a lot more effort than superadobe, and is more time-consuming due to leveling, picking the right tires, etc. Also, including a greenhouse (depending on the climate zone) makes a lot of sense in terms of temperature regulation, and food production.

Just caught up on this thread after being away for some weeks. I have too been very intrigued by merging Earthship design with Earth bags, for much the same reasons as @stortebeker. Also been pondering about compacted earth... If any of you have any good resources or books to recommend please let me know. Trying to do as much research as possible while I have time in my hands.

earthbag on a tyre foundation is a GREAT idea! i also reccomend doing them round with an earthbag roof as well ... very cheap and great performance that way..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54