You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Fighting to Realize the Dreams of Other People?

in #life5 years ago

It's oh so true what you say about: "You see, we tend to believe that we should live at the pleasure of others, specially those who are close to us, and that is why we set our goals in a way that falls into perfect harmony with the vision that they have for us. "
There were things I wanted to do in the past, but I worried what my mother would think
I don't regret not doing them because I would never have wanted to upset or offend her
Maybe I've been held back from really pursuing my dream of being a millionaire because of my upbringing
My parents always made sure we were well fed and cared for, but even today my dad says of pop and sports stars, and the business man who pocketed a £100 million bonus, "Nobody's worth that amount."
Maybe, maybe not
But every day I write and work out how to market my books because I believe I can be the next Hugh Howey, Andy Weir, George Martin, or J.K. Rowling
That's the way my father's generation were brought up
The struggles of the post war years meant a frugal existence for tens of millions
We spoke on Wednesday evening about John Humphreys still doing question time
Is he greedy for wanting to earn another million or two
Is he stopping a younger man getting the job?
I'll probably still be working in my eighties
Even with 10, or even £100 million in the bank
With that cash it's more likely I will be
As long has I've got stories to tell
Something to say
I feel I can enrich people's lives
I'll carry on
You've made some great points as usual
If people feel torn between loyalty, family, and self-enrichment, I hope they find strength in your words and this community to pursue their own goals and desires

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93