Courage to changesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

Its a new month. Another set of bills arrives. Payday was last week and in all likelihood its gone already to last months bills. Life sometimes is like that.

But with the start of a new month we have a psychological opportunity to start over. But do we? Sometimes the lives we have created wrap us up in a spiral of repetitive mediocrity and its hard to get out of the rut.

December is always a month of reflection for me. Its the month that has a lot of celebrations (Christmas) and in my family we have a birthday (mine) and it sometimes is a sad time for me because I look back at the missed opportunities of the year and I make the same commitment I made last year:

spend more time with my son
be more committed at the gym
be better with my savings etc etc
We all know the drill.

This year is different.

In April this year I made a decision that changed my life. I left the security of a job I did not like working for a boss I did not like. I decided to make myself accountable for how I feel. Leaving my job to follow my dreams was the best thing to get myself back to who I am. I am a strong believer in toxic people make you more than just "sick". They poison your thinking and those around you because you become a different person without knowing and everything then starts to close in on you.

I also made a commitment to get in better shape, physically. So I started working out in a smarter way and watching what I eat and the results are showing in the way I feel.

As we enter December I look back and say "I am glad that I had the courage to do what I did". I encourage you to do the same. If you are waking up in the morning and not liking your choices only you have the power to change them. I spoke to a good friend yesterday and he was saying that he was scared of the risks of change. I said to him "what are the risks that you don't change?"

Thats what its about. You have to have the courage to change. Nothing will improve without you taking the first step.

It took me years to do what i did. I regret not doing it earlier.

Sort:  

You made the same move as me, feels good doesn't it :)

It so funny. I read your toxic friend post this morning after i finished my piece and your piece resonated with me. Its an awesome feeling! :)

We both must have been thinking and writing about it at the same time :)

Good choice. It's a rare occurrence to find people that love their jobs.

We have the ability to look forwards or backwards. When times get tough we are inclined to look backwards and long for the security of our past life, yet we forget how we disliked our jobs/boss and how miserable we really were. It is then that we need to remember why we chose the path we are now on and look forward to the results of our choice.

Spot on. The comfort of your past will never cure the fear of the future...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34