Why we like music of a particular decade.

in #life7 years ago

When I was younger people would ask what type of music I liked. The truth is I like any genre of music equally because there are always good songs and not so good songs. A lot of times whether one likes or dislikes genre is because they tend to be specific to a particular generation or a particular decade. For instance many people equate the 70s with Disco but lots of different types of music (including Punk Rock) evolved in the seventies. I have included the link to the top 100 Billboard songs of the 80's. Just spend a couple of minutes listening to this video and hear Reggae, Hard Rock, New Romantic etc. I had to pause the video myself on a couple of songs because of the nostalgia/pain that I felt. I person who didn't live through a particular decade cannot appreciate the music because that person probably doesn't have the emotional context to that music.

Regardless if a person honestly sits down and listens to good music, it is immaterial what decade it is from.

Sort:  

Hey David,
I hope you are doing well. I resteemed the Steemhost project post with the hope to help increase the exposure. I think if we ask our circle to do the same and they ask theirs we can really get it the attention it deserves.
Have a wonderful day ahead.
Lucy

to me, music is timeless!

Must listen to a lot of syncopation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47