The Cost of Basic Income/Investing in the Future

in #life5 years ago


Source: Lindsay Advocate

Universal Basic Income is a contentious subject which is often studied but rarely implemented. The province of Ontario like other bodies going before ran a pilot project to study the effects of such a program. Like too many times before a change in the political parties of the province resulted in the cancellation of the study. An independent survey of the participants in the project ratified conclusions which had been made previously.

  • Basic Income improves education outcomes for the participants
  • Basic Income improves the health of the participants
  • Basic Income improves the family dynamic for the participants
  • Basic Income improves the economic opportunities for the participants

Basic Income improves education outcomes for the participants

More than 33 percent of respondents to a survey about the Ontario Basic Income Pilot were going back to school to further their education.
Source

The OBIP allowed people to consider continuing their education:

Yvonne is a 30-something female who was working full time, and qualified for a top-up of basic income...“It (basic income) has also helped me to save up to go to school in January to gain a trade in horticulture. Someday I could open my own small business,” she says in the survey.

It also allowed those already in higher education to devote more time to their studies:

For Gina, a post-secondary student, she says that “basic income changed my life.”
“I am a full time student and had (non-paid) placement four days a week; there was almost no time for a part time job,” she says in the survey.
She says she can now afford travel to school, pay for insurance, a gym membership, her phone bill, and her groceries.

Basic Income improves the health of the participants

The concurrent benefit with education as described by Gina above, she was able to improve the quality of her lifestyle (a gym membership) and being able to ease the purchase of groceries.

“I bought glasses, contacts and my stress had gone significantly down. Self care was something I really improved on with basic income.”

Basic Income improves the family dynamic for the participants

Dylan, who is in his 30s and married with children, did not graduate from high school. But basic income was helping his fiancé return to school – and so it was helping the family.
“I was able to stay at home with my one-year-old daughter while my fiancé went back to school.

Basic Income improves the economic opportunities for the participants

Yvonne is a 30-something female who was working full time, and qualified for a top-up of basic income. With basic income, she was able to afford a vehicle to get to her appointments.

One of the greatest impediments to income is the inability of people to travel to where the jobs are. Even the ability to commute a few extra minutes distance opens up many opportunities and job choices.

Sort:  

Hi, long time since we last communicated.

I chose this older post for contacting you, for a reason, but first, the reason for writing:

steemhost - has it been abandoned?

For some time now I cannot get in. Even just the url without my name does not work - and neither with yours. This is what I get, a box showing this (even though I do not mention your name):

Logon failed for login 'Steemit-dwarrilow2002' due to trigger execution.

Changed database context to 'DBSteem'.

Changed language setting to us_english.

....

As for 'basic income' I am working on something similar, but not the same. I want to create a platform which helps people support themselves through their daily purchases - but they must not shop at huge supermarkets. They must choose to spend money with traders/service providers, who are not on any stock exchange. This builds up and can create them a small income for covering extras or even basics if times are desperate. It also provides a way of helping with the finance of property, for instance, with very low charges (the other members partly fund them, like a crowd-funding exercise, but they must earn something).

Look forward to hearing from you.

Hi @arthur.grafo

Last September I ended up in the hospital with pneumonia and consequently was off of computers for a couple of months. Even now I only connect once per week. So far you are the first to have noticed that specific error has been appearing for about two months.

I took off the content on the steemhost page that gives the error (
I will get around creating a better front page on steemhost.com once I set about thinking about the new direction that I want to take) and your content can still be found at
https://www.steemhost.com/@arthur.grafo
if you want to iframe your content on other pages it is possible to turn both the menu and/or the banner to be turned off using the following url.

https://www.steemhost.com/steem/SteemOther.aspx?Host=@arthur.grafo&menu=off&banner=off

I am interested in hearing more about your basic income project as it continues in fruition.

Sorry to hear about your health problems and I'm glad you are recovering.

The no banner url is great - thanks.

As for my project, it started off (and the main thrust of it) lies in a different direction, as I am trying to find a way to lessen our dependence on corporates and encourage local trade (worldwide). If you think something like that could be of interest, let me know and I will provide you with an email where you can contact me, so that I can discuss it with you.

It still is at a bare-bones stage, as I need a deal I am doing to pay-off so that I can employ someone to do the coding. Then it begins to turn into something real :)

...

I don't know if you have noticed, but for a long time now, at the end of each of my LC posts, I give info for people to use SteemHost. I hope you are getting some posters there.

I am re-posting LC Book #1 as I hate the steemit posting of only 2 pages. These posts are of about 10 pages each. Although I am doing it under a different account, I can still use the same steemhost account?

The SteemOther.aspx page links to a database which is not on steem. The content you post there you can link to documents on both profiles.

As you get closer to being ready to work on your other project, give me a heads up.

Thanks and will do so.

May I do something rude and ask whether you are a globalist, or whether you tend towards being a patriot?

This question is in answer to your:

As you get closer to being ready to work on your other project, give me a heads up.

I hope you feel free to confide in me, as it is an important aspect of the project. If you would prefer to answer in private, I can post here my email...and then delete it as soon as you confirm you've got it. For you it would be safe, since you could create a new email with a new user name.

I consider myself to be neither a globalist nor a patriot. I consider myself an individualist. While I can take a certain amount of pride in being Canadian, one political decision can and has changed the nature of our country's character. Making it easier for individuals to communicate on a global scale is a good thing, but having a select group of people deciding what is best for all people is perhaps not the best thing.

A universal basic income is much like bitcoin. Normal banking practices puts a lot of power into the hands of a few and bitcoin disrupts this. Regular forms of taxation/transfer payments consolidates equity into the hands of a few while a UBI equally distributes across an entire society.

As time moves forward, I can create a communication platform on steemhost which would work as well as email.

I was not trying to be intrusive - I asked for a reason.

I am an anti-globalist, as you may have worked out from many of my posts. I realised that all those people who feel the same way as me are trapped in the same horrible position of financing our enemies by using them to take care of the major parts of our needs (from groceries, to medicines, to doctors, plumbers, house agents and so on).

I thought up a platform which would help finance the normal person so that they can buy from the smaller shops and go to private doctors and electricians and...even schools and creches for their kids.

While they would be earning a return from their shopping, their annual returns (a sort of gift based on what they earned) would accumulate to provide them with a basic income. They could reach an amount to survive on, but the income is actually meant to help them survive a job loss or their pension years.

While benfitting the normal person, this scheme also rewards the traders/service providers who take part - for instance, if they need to grow their business, a new machine for instance, we will finance them at very low rates, so that no bank has a hold on them.

I hope my question now makes some kind of sense
:)

re email - would be better to create a pm for those using the platform, so that you can encrypt and keep their messages private (did you see the article a few weeks ago about Discord selling data -chats, emails, ip and names)? Telegram did it a while back and their customers abandoned them, so they are now very careful to to sell data...but people are still wary of using them.

For instance, if you said, we are charging you 20c a month, $2.40 a year, so that we have a contract which spells out that we do not have the right to share your data with anyone and you could sue us if we did....I bet many would subscribe. I would.

I hope this message finds you recovered from your health problems.

A steemit friend asked how he can use Steemhost to view his postings on Steemit. Before giving him the link I show in my posts, I tried it, with his and then with my name.

Neither worked.

I'm not talking about where I have logged in and published links to some of my postings. I am talking about the page where I can see all my postings in Steemit.

Is there a work-around to the problem?

While I am maintaining the SteemOther.aspx page, I have tabled the use of the "Host" and "Contributor" pages. This is primarily because the interest in steem has dropped off significantly.

Okay, thanks for telling me, at least I am saved making more entries there.

Good luck with whatever you are involved in...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88