If I can make a suggestion ...

in #life4 years ago

image.png

As you can see in the image below, I have started planting microgreens. I have trays, growing materials (in this case felt pads) and a number of different seed varieties. These include regular salad greens but also packages of mustard, radishes, sunflower seeds and several others. I was surprised to see that one of them was buckwheat.

In essence, you dampen the substrate, spread the seeds and eight to 14 days later turn the greens into a salad. There is no fertilizing, just spraying the sprouts once or twice per day. While I have always been interested in greens as a form of food especially in areas that have encountered a disaster - there is a very quick turnaround - what prompted this for me was that our grocery store shelves have been emptied, and I want to avoid going there as much as possible.

Today, I heard that there are now 10 cases here. The first 3 were returning from being abroad, but some have contracted it by not travelling. If the people here do not follow the proper lockdown procedures, the progression of the infection is such that in 14 days it increases by a factor of 10. In 14 days - 100 cases. In 28 days - 1000 cases. In 42 days - 10000 cases etc.

That is why I suggest growing your own microgreens. A packet of seeds is roughly $1.00 but in roughly 10 days there will be enough to feed 2-5 (father doesn't like to eat grass ...), people a salad daily. With 10 trays going in a repeating cycle, I should be able to keep us going until the garden I will plant in May will take over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80