Ultimate holiday message: Life passes, things break, love stays

in #life7 years ago (edited)

These holidays made me think about transience of life.

I remembered all Easters in my past, especially those when my dad was alive. It's hard to remember anything except that we were a really happy family. The same family that I'm trying to make now. And I hope that I will be successful like my father but hope that I will stay longer to watch for that family.

It's funny how some things change and some things will always be the same.

I found a toy that I got from my father on Christmas in 1990 or 1991. I can't remember when exactly it was, I was only five or six years old. But the store where he bought that toy still stands there. Long time ago, it was popular toy store, today it's almost empty, because of competition in malls. I remember that we had streets in city center full of funny stores and always crowded with people. That changed, these streets are empty now, nobody even cleans shits of his dog from that streets. And all those people moved to other streets: those inside of mall! And that's how holiday shopping lost the whole magic for me.

Down on the image, you'll see two photos from my birthday. My sister always acted as it was her birthday and that made me angry. Today we are laughing when we remember it!

Looking at today's children makes me think about my generation.

We were humble kids, we were growing in the time of war and it was very different than now. Our parents couldn't give us much more than pure love, but it was all we needed. We didn't cry for expensive toys, sometimes we did, but later we were sorry for wishing impossible. And that was when was the end of communist regime, so we didn't have any crazy toys in stores. But we had a choice in market, we could buy one of only two types of chocolate. Today I see a million of different brands, covers and logos of chocolate on the shelves of a supermarket. And I see toys we couldn't even dream about. And the prices of these super toys are unreasonable.

It's normal to see today a bunch of kids with very expensive cellphones.

I don't think that's good, but if you refuse to buy cool phone to your kid, she/he will start to feel uncomfortable with her/his friends and those friends will mock and talk, but they don't know the real evil of their words. They've been raised to have everything and they start to choose friends who can have everything. But then I see that those cellphones in hands of those kids die really fast. because those kids don't take care about their things, they don't appreciate those gifts from their parents who worked hard to buy it.

I don't say that you shouldn't buy a cool phone for your kid, but you should educate the kid first.

You must teach your kid how to keep the phone safe and how to appreciate the gift that you have worked for. But that the minor thing, first teach your kid that the cellphone is - NOTHING. It doesn't exist at all! It is not important in life, it's time will end for few years and the same child will wish for another one.

That's why I don't remember toys from my childhood but I remember love. And love stays always the same. The world will change, but the love will stay. And that's what every child should know, especially in the time of holidays. Thank you!

Sort:  

@dumar022, you'll be an awesome daddy my friend. Steem On Dude!

Thanks, @runridefly! STEEM ON!!!

I loved reading this. Thanks for posting it. I agree with you. There at least used to be people, but it's not the malls doing it. Places like Wal-Mart didn't just kill independent stores they are killing malls as well. It's not just Wal-Mart though, online shopping like Amazon is what is taking malls out. Soon they will be a thing of the past just like blockbuster. People don't meet the way they used to, malls, shopping at the grocery store, at a downtown store...etc. they meet online. It's a total shift from what it used to be. I was considered a anti-social misfit when I was younger because of all the computer time I put in back in the early 90s. Now you have to have social media to be cool, or those who like to live a real life are considered uncool. These are the kind of ideas of what led me to want to paint some things from my childhood (from late 80s-mid 90s) so Im working on a series of paintings that focus on things that were around in that time. Good work on the post. :-)

Thanks for this nice comment, I appreciate it. Just few hours ago, I saw three boys sitting on the bench by the beach, and each of them keeps mouth shut and just looking on the phone displays. I guess they spend some quality time outside. I would replace those phones with a ball. I live in Croatia where people still don't trust so much in internet stores...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16