Today I escaped death by inches and I'm so happy for writing this post

in #life7 years ago

I think that I just realized what happened few hours ago. I was there, with my mind and my body, but just now all became clear to me. Just as it was happening to someone else. Now, in this moment I realized how lucky I am. My life literally depended on two centimeters. And I am very grateful for staying here with you.

I turned my car on this morning and went to work, as I do every day.

I know every street very good, I got used to crowded traffic and I have few good trick how to deal with traffic in my city. Small city, a lot of cars and always is crowded on the roads, especially in the mornings, when everybody goes to work. I noticed the red color on the traffic light and started to slow down the car. I stopped and waited for the green light. The road that goes across my way was empty of cars.

Green light. Slowly, I continued through the crossroad. With left angle of my left eye I noticed that some car is coming very fast and that the driver is not looking on the traffic lights, which was red for him. I just saw how it comes fast from my left side and it all happened in less than one second!

The driver realized what he's doing and pushed the brakes!

I thought it was over. I closed my eyes and expected to feel the strike. Luckily, the driver managed to stop the car and only touched my car in the door on my side! And I was just behind that door on the other side. The driver moved backwards for a meter and got out of car. I tried to get out of my car, but I couldn't open the door. It seemed that the hit destroyed the mechanism of left door, so I had to get out on the door on the right side.

So I got outta my car and started to scream on the old man.

He was crying and panicking trying to explain me that he just didn't look because his granddaughter called him on his cellphone. When I realized that there is no any real damage on my car, I calmed down. The old man was still in panic. His granddaughter was still calling him because she was scared about what happened. We moved to parking lot to avoid the police and he filled the insurance documents, so his insurance will cover the damage on my car. And he told me that he his has bad brakes and that this time they miraculously worked fine this time! I told him not to full around and fix his car and suggested him to go on medical exam because I noticed how old was he and that he acts senile. Then I managed to fix my left door with some martial arts.

After we shook hands, I went to my work. My boss was in hurry and told me that I have to be next two hours alone in my office. And here I am, realizing what happened. The words on the old man were still in my ears. His brakes don't work fine lately, but this time they worked!

So I looked through the window on the clear skies. Thanks for watching on me! Maybe I haven't deserved it yet, but I will, I promise!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @dumar022.

Perhaps for some reason....you are supposed to look up today.

Man's extremity is God's opportunity.

We are to be overwhelmed by His Grace rather than by our faults......sounds like you are doing just that.

Yes...Steemit is glad you were spared....this sort of happening does give us a sense of reality we might not otherwise have had.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Thank you, @bleujay! There were many situations when I was "spared". And each of those situations helped me to improve my life

What a freaky morning, very happy to hear that nothing serious happened. Enjoy every day like its the last I guess is the lesson to be learned here. Have a great day @dumar022

Well, it has to be a great day after all! Thanks, @mallorcaman!

An amazing story and lucky everyone involved was not hurt. What a different perspective on life it gives eh? Have a wonderful rest of your life friend!

Sure it does give different perspective! Thanks!

It's amazing when you you realise that you have just escaped something like that. I remember going for a walk one day and there was some scaffolding up against a building, literally two seconds after i had passed it by the wind toppled it over, if i had walked that bit slower i would have been hit and most likely dies that day. I know the shakey sense of relief you probably had and the sheer gratitude you have when you realise i got through that without a scratch!

Well, you can imagine how I feel right now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88