My friend runs for City Mayor

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am not supporter of any political parties here, but when I see my friend giving all of himself in this run for city mayor, I have to pass the word about it.

There will be more than twenty candidates and he is ranked in top 3. I was really surprised when I found out that he runs for mayor. Honestly, I haven't knew anything about this political engagement and I've never discussed about politics with him. Today, when I saw him in a suit with a tie and all, he told me that he is new in this and, lately, he can't stand to see what those politicians do to us.

IMAGE SOURCE

It would be fun to have a hip - hop DJ as a city mayor.

His name is Mario Marin and we all know him as DJ MengRen. I can't say that he was one of the first people who listened hip - hop around here, no, HE WAS THE FIRST ONE! He was born in 1974 and started FOUNDATION RAP SHOW on Radio Šibenik and that was the first hip - hop radio show in Croatia. And that show was in our little city, so DJ MengRen has strong influence on young people here. he helped to many of us when we were kids to find ourselves in the world of hip - hop. He was never acting as older than us. He was always helpful with a smile on his face. He made possible to me and my bend to have a first live act when we were 15 years old.

IMAGE SOURCE

Situation about politics here is in deep shit.

We have many, many political parties. People always choose one of two largest parties, but both of those have robed us. They are just groups of shameless bandits. But DJ MengRen joined to citizen initiative called Živi Zid which means Live Wall. They were firstly formed as a movement to prevent enforcement. For example, when a bank wants to take someone's house because of dept, the group of activists were standing in front of the house for days, making public demonstrations and preventing the police to come in. So they evolved in fourth strongest political party in Croatia.

IMAGE SOURCE

DJ MengRen called me yesterday and asked me if I could make some radio jingles for his campaign.

I don't like when someone makes connection between my music and politics, but I am glad that I can be helpful. So I will support Live Wall on this year's local elections. At least I have a choice now.

Sort:  

All the best to your friend.

Thank you, nice to have some support from the other side of the world :)

You're welcome

@dumar022, I'm not into politics and I'm half a world away, but I wish your friend victory. Steem On Dude!

Thank you, @runridefly, for your support :)!

I hope he does well! Good luck!

We'll see on May 21st

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18