I drink to forget you, but I see you in double vision

in #life7 years ago

First I must explain the circumstances in which I heard these words in the title this morning.

Back to work after one week of resting!

Each morning, on he way from my parking place to my office I must pass by the place where bums and drunks are gathering. Some of them are aggressive when they get drunk but some are benign and harmless, singing all day, from the morning until they pass out. It was 7:20 AM this morning and I heard one of them singing on the distance of 50 meters. I saw this bearded drunk, possible a homeless sitting in front of the market with bottle of beer in his hands. Two empty bottles were on the bench, just next to him. I repeat, I was 7:20 AM.

An older lady was passing him by, just in front of me and he yelled at her:

"Baby, I drink to forget you, but I see you in double vision!"

She completely ignored him, but I couldn't resist to laugh. He heard me and that encouraged him to approach me and ask me some spare money. So I asked does he need that spare money for beer. He told me that he wants to buy some milk. Yeah sure, two empty bottles of beer next to him and the third in his hand are obvious proof that he is nothing but a milk drinker!

So, I told him that I am not sure if I give him some money, will that be good deed or bad deed! When he heard me talking about good and bad deeds, in the second he turned to be mostly religious. He said:

"They say that alcohol is an enemy, but Bible says: Love your enemies!"

He made me laugh for the second time and, I guess, he deserved some spare coin.

It is not ours to judge these people. The state made them to end in this situation. There was a war here, more than o years ago and all of them were soldiers. Many of them couldn't deal with that. They lost they nerves, saw many bad things and state gave them - NOTHING! So we have to help them from time to time. Even if they want to destroy themselves with your help. Sounds pointless, but the guy made me laugh!

Thank you!

Sort:  

His commentary: "They say that's an enemy, but the Bible says: Love your enemies!" Do all the money!
Thank you @dumar022
Upvote and Follow
Steem on

It made me lough as well, it is spot on...love all your enemies:) Definitely he deserved your attention and some spare change, we all learn from those situations...Cheers, Damir

Cheers, my friend

Glad you gave him some spare coin. The worst thing that can happen to someone is being homeless and alcoholic. Loved his sense of humor.Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for commenting

Awesome true to life story, my friend. I really enjoed reading this. And yes, you are right - nobody is really guilty for the state he is in, but on the other hand - he is responsible for it ;) We should help, yes!

I agree! We need to make them steemit account and let them earn for life

This post has received a 8.85 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dumar022.

Im glad you gave him money. He needs a tablet and wifi so he can steemit. This gentleman has tons of original content to share. I wish him the best. @dumar022, we Steem On!

Hahaha lol! Thank you @runridefly

Who had make you laugh x2 today? That man deserved double of those coins :)

If he had a steemit account, I would delegate my power to him

he'll need a phone and some juice ;)

i have to say it again: i love your stories! about two weeks ago one man approached me and my friend on the street and said "please give me 50 dinars. I need money for the bread. Well, rakija and bread" and I gave him some change. The reason was same as yours

Thank you so much!!!

Estuvo muy bueno, I liked !! Jaja @dumar022

Ja uvijek dam novac, ako mi iskreno odgovori na pitanje da treba za cigarete ili alkohol. Ako vidim da mu treba za to, a laze, nista od mene nece uzicati :-)

Ovaj je prvo ponudio svoju uslugu - nasmijao me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51