GOOD VS EVIL: I defeated an autoimmune disease

in #life7 years ago

Yeah, it's official! Doctors confirmed! For those of my followers who don't know, I suffer of autoimmune disease called Ankylosing spondylitis (AS) and today, I can say that I killed the bastard. Well, AS cannot be cured, but it didn't make any progress for whole three years, so we can say that the progress is stopped.

I've been through a lot with this beast that attacked my bones. I've already written about what is aknylosing spondylitis, so I will just say few short notes about it.

Ankylosing spondylitis is a type of arthritis with inflammation of joints of the spine.

We all feel back pain constantly. With the time, pain means nothing. The biggest problem is the stiffness. The cause of AS is unknown, but all of us are carriers of human leukocyte antigen HLA-B27 and that little bastard turns our muscle tissue to bone - like matter. And we start to have bent posture and limited moves. Some medications can help but I didn't have best experience with them. It seems that those medications cause more side effects to me than any benefits. But I will just list some types of these medications:

  • Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (pain killers with anti - inflammatory effects)
  • Corticosteroids (make all good things to be fucked up because of few benefits)
  • Disease-modifying antirheumatic drug (slows down the progress, but without any effects in my case)
  • Chimeric monoclonal antibody biologic drug (this is the newest drug but in my case caused many side effects so I had to stop with it)

AS will not kill me but it seriously damaged the quality of my life! So, if any medications didn't help me, how did I managed to get better?

Only thing that works for me is physical exercise!

Physical activity prevents the progress of the disease! All I need is to get up an hour earlier and do my stretching. I stretch my backs and keep my maintain my mobility.

I MANAGED TO STOP THE DISEASE WITH HELP OF MY MADNESS!!!

And that's true, if I wasn't so restless and crazily active, I would be much worse. I walk too much and spend my days in actions with my dog outside. And I don't have any peace when I'm resting. And now, without any medications, I managed on my own to stop the progress of autoimmune disease. I guess it's all in the head and clear minds.

Thanks to my wife, my mom, my sister and my friend for believing in me and for being with me all the time for the last eight years! Lord gave me a weapon to fight with AS and that weapon is my MADNESS!

Ankylosing spondylitis made my life difficult but I stayed positive all the time! Positivity counts! My neck is permanently stiff for eight years and make jokes about it! This is a victory of good against the evil! Thank you!

Sort:  

My friend, I did not know this! I'm so glad you're doing better! All my positive energy for you and I hope you follow the good news. How nice that you have the support of your whole family, I think that is fundamental for the progress you are making, in addition to being always positive. I send you a big hug!

Thank you, @tincho, I appreciate it. If there wasn't my family, I wouldn't have a reason to feel better:)

That's great buddy. A lot of strength for you and I hope you have an excellent Thursday!

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!
So happy for you!!

Thank you!!!

Wow, awesome! Congratulations and I hope you continue to stay well! Will follow your posts.

@dumar022, you kick autoimmune diseases in the balls and tell them to take a hike. Congrats on the madness my friend.

Thank you, @runridefly, madness is powerful weapon!

You are healed completely man in Jesus Name.

Yes, I am, thanks

Brilliant as the husband of a fibromyalgia sufferer i know that exercise and a positive outlook can help quite a lot, keep it up.

And she has you, that also counts

Amen to the exercise health program.... look into Sanchin for a great muscle, tendon and bone change (strengthening and densifying) program.

I will, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66