Found a tiny dead gecko on my stairs

in #life7 years ago

Spring just began so we can see some friendly geckos on our walls inside our houses.

It is not unusual to see these geckos in people's homes. They mean no harm and nobody cares about them. They are quiet, they just pick a spot on the wall and they can be still on that spot for hours.

This species is Tarentola mauritanica, that kind of geckos lives only in Mediterranean region.

They can grow up to 15 centimeters. You can see them already at the end of winter. When you see a first house gecko, that means that winter came to it's end.

Unfortunately, the first gecko I've seen in my home this year was already dead.

But he is so tiny, I feel sorry for the little guy!

You can compare the size of this gecko with my finger on the photo.

First, I thought that the gecko was alive but stands still! That's easy mistake to make, because these geckos act like domesticated, they do not run from the people.

So, I went to pick up my super cheap macro lens for mobile phone camera. Check the shot:

Little crocodile, isn't it?

When you see a little dead animal, it can really ruin your day.

These geckos are not evil or mean as some reptiles as snakes or other lizards. All they want is a fine wall to climb. Check other macro shot:

#whysoserious

Sort:  

I usually let them be. They rid the home of some pesky insects.

Yes, mosquitoes and flies, thanks for comment :)

You're welcome

Thanks, @silvia! Strange how I haven't noticed large amounts of food on your blog till now ;)! Now you are followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43