Confessions of an electricity addict

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Few valuable machines and many small appliances had to die in my neighborhood, and some cables had to be burned, some nights had to be spent on the light of few candles, for me just to realize:

Hello community, I am @dumar022 and I am electric power addict!

APPLAUSE!!!

It's kinda important step to an electricity addict to speak up about this problem, especially because of this ironic situation in which I need electric power to share this with you.

I simply don't appreciate any other computer-like gadgets/devices as a desktop computer. I hate laptops, I had two and I didn't have nice experiences with them. I always stumble on the charger and I don't respect that sort of computer that you can place on your legs in your bed. No, computer has to be a giant who forces you to take your special place in front of it. I don't like tablets neither, I see them as useful as a cutting board.

Phone is different thing, I use it to make calls, text people, take photos (although there are much better devices for that) and, of course, give my upvotes on Steemit and write some shorter comment. It is like my "Steemit viewer" and I avoid to use it for posting or any more serious stuff on the internet.

I found myself few times steering at the black display without any picture in this "grieving period"... why it had to die?

My PC was my faithful friend for last 4 years. Meanwhile I changed a lot of things on it, so it kinda turned to my hand work. My custom made machine to control the universe.
Luckily, my disk is still alive, my data is safe and soon I will perform it's brain transplantation into another body. I just have to wait that new body to arrive for few days.

Meanwhile, what has left for me?

I can browse internet on my phone and that goes slowly or I can just watch TV and become more stupid because that's what's TV for.

My wife noticed that my phone is constantly in my hands last two days and warned me that she will throw it through the window.

That made me to remember that I spent a week without phone a year ago. Now I see that as a nice experience! It was kinda relaxing and relieving. People were coming to my home asking for me, others that I met were telling me who is looking for me. I enjoyed the communication in that "phoneless" week.

So, what caused this addiction to new generations?

If the whole electric power, I mean WHOLE electric power in the world was gone for 5 minutes, I don't want to think about how many deaths would be caused by that.

My grandpa didn't need it and his father neither.

That's probably why my grandpa had 9 siblings. Yes, they needed some extra hands to wok in the fields and they didn't have any proper contraception, but also those people had nothing to do on the nights instead of making more children. My father grew up with a little help of TV and, in his time, he was a "movies addict" and guess what: I have only a sister!

Maybe I should consider to leave the civilization and go to jungle to spend few years with monkeys?

Thank you!

Sort:  

haha funny story - if the world was without power for 5 minutes there would be people panicking similar to losing internet connection for 5 mins

I feel for you, hopefully that support group can pull you through :)

Haha, lol, thanks

Earlier Electricity is Luxury now it is necessity.
Now I am 29 years old and saw the transition process of having no power to power surplus.

But One thing I must say with the advent of technology human relations are deteriorating.It is inversely proportional

Yes, I noticed that, thank you!

electric power has brought people together...

obviously we can live without it...

we can or we can't?

We can, but our life will be so different :D

i have a main heater and 2 plugin heaters... but thats cuz canada is so damn cold!!

Hope everythings back to normal and you are up and running again with your pc.
Don't forget to use a surge protector

Of course, i have to buy it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63