Boats of Dalmatia - Storm is coming

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I decided to walk with my dog before the upcoming storm.

The sea is undulating and I see the boats dancing on the waves. These are some of the most beautiful scenes for me! The strength of the sea, the power of the wind... it is little bit scary and very beautiful on the same time. So I couldn't resist to take some photos and, maybe, make some GIF-s.

All photos and GIF-s were taken and made by me on my iPhone SE. You can click on any of photos to get better preview. GIF-s are not clickable! The location is about 300 meters from my home!

full size

The most of these docks that I will show you are illegal. People act like they own the sea and the coast. So they make these docks very bad and unprofessional. As the years pass, everything falls apart.

full size |full size

Many people here are fishermen. The boat is a necessary vehicle and, in many cases, lives are depending on it!

Young people are not interesting in the fishing as older ones. You need to have a lot of experience to be successful as a fisherman. Older guys know many old school tricks but old ways are coming to end. I am glad that technology and progress come here very slowly, so you can still see many of these boats far from the coast when we have nice weather. Today, that is not the case, so they are tied to the docks. These two boats on photos below are protected in little lagoon.

full size |full size

But everywhere else around, the sea is starting to be wild.

This is nothing comparing what we expect to see this afternoon.

So I must run from this spot if I don't want to my phone to get wet.

Every day when I walk I see this wreck. I find it beautiful! I has been here for years and nobody cares, It is a very old, wooden fishing boat, now it is treated like piece of garbage!

full size |full size

And really nobody cares, nobody recognizes the potential that this boat has!

Well, it is impossible to renew it to sail again, but I think that it can be useful as very nice decoration i backyard or garden. Maybe I take it for myself. Just a little bit of creativity and this could look beautiful somewhere around my olive trees. It is shame for this boat to be treated like this. It's a practically a dumpster!

full size

I don't own a boat anymore, I had to sell it few years ago. Now I'm sorry for that and I always consider to get one.

Last time when we had big storm, several chains and ties were broken, wind broke few boats on the shore. Once I even saw a boat flying on the wind! So, we always have to check our boats or boats of our neighbors and friends.

You see, @moon32walker, your boat is OK for now! Last time when we had storm, it ended up on the coast turned upside down. Luckily, no damage!

The sky is becoming black. This is going to be nasty so I must run! Thank you, sisters and brothers Steemers for reading this post, I hope that you enjoyed it!

full size |full size

Sort:  

Dalmacia u mom oku. Beautiful photos

@dumar022
You can participate in SPC#18 , Transport
Nice photos by the way

thank you @bullionstackers!!;). I have never participated on SPC, i still don't feel ready for that... but one day... :)

There's no ready or not. Just for fun. :-)

i just didn't think about that when i was taking these photos. Now you guys gave me an idea for tomorrow, tnx;)

No 8 & 9 , sure a winner, depending on how you portray it.

these photos are already in this post, so i must make new ones

Ha... if serious then you have to be taking more pictures with heavy camera and gear. Got to get serious now. Time to write text for my first entry

About to mention the same. :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80