NamessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Video with musical accompaniment included but these are the words for both, hope you enjoy!

I just changed my channel name from That's Cool to Duh DA5 to match my steemit account for a few reasons and I figured I'd get into them here. First off while That's Cool works as a catchy grab, it is also the most open-ended name ever. Who am I to say what is cool? Just because I created it and I enjoy it doesn't make it cool because cool doesn't really mean anything at all. Cool is subjective, language is subjective. A word can change its meaning twenty times in a week if the situations present themselves.

I'll probably talk more about language in the future, but that isn't what this entry is about. I need to explain my new name. One more thing though That's Cool had too much competition and I needed something unique to me to really make a nice foothold with the google master soo. First off Duh which is almost as broad as That's Cool and serves its purpose. It says, of course, like of course you should listen or watch, subscribe, whatever it's in the title. It also serves to set up the next part as it also sounds like T H E the or thee, isn't the English language grand?

The next part is DA which stands for my musical alias Drew Alexander, which is also a part of my real name. I used to go by some ridiculous names that I can only vaguely remember. First, it was Future which anyone in the know realizes is already an established artist, though I probably used the name first. Way back around 2004 when I first started writing, who knows though perhaps that was his alias back then as well, though it is more likely that he was given it by some industry producer, that's neither here nor there.

The name after that for a short misguided time was 2ooN with a two at the front and pronounced like looney toon or tune your guitar. The wordplay is clear for a guy who wrote goofy lyrics and also tried to tap into the musicality of it all. Sadly it is also kind of a joke and would make me look like a joke, which I don't mind until I'm trying to do something serious. Short and sweet like my main influence Nas but I'm glad I moved on.

I moved on thanks to a trip to Toronto where I met a group of girls on vacation from different nations in Europe, and one of them said "Why don't you go by your name? Don't you want to be known for who you are?" Or something like that I can't remember her exact quote but I liked the idea and the rest is history. We were supposed to meet up at a club later, but I hadn't packed the right clothes so I couldn't get in but that's all good make sure you visit Toronto, It's an amazing city.

I still have another channel named Drew Alexander but I want this to be more than just the music. This is me putting my ethos out into the universe and that brings me to the last part of DA, it also stands for the District Attorney, it also stands for the Defense attorney and that applies well to our dualistic nature as human beings living in our three-dimensional world. I want to be a voice that defends the people and is for the people at the same time. That's a hard line to walk and I'm sure I have/will make mistakes from time to time, but regardless that's my goal.

Finally, the 5 is for the 5th age which is steadily approaching. Some might even say we are already living in it. Some might not you to even know what it means. Heres what it means to me, all of our technology is Smart these days and it only gets more intelligent every day. The 5th age is the true technological age when man and technology blend. I have no idea what it will look like or when you can say it truly begins or began. With cryptocurrency, Alexa, and quantum computing it might already be here.

Regardless that's what the 5 is for, to do my part as one of your many sherpa's speaking on today's world we live in with a musical twist. Love it or hate it, that is what it is and hopefully, you will join me on this journey or not, that's your prerogative and I'll keep trucking till I'm gone. No verse on the video today I've probably talked your ear off enough, hope you have a great day!

Sort:  

Greeting @duh-da5. I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!

awesome beat. great breakdown of how you became known as the artist you are today while simultaneously deconstructing this transitional period We're going through on this planet.🤙

Always upvoting my classmates!

hey @duh-da5

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you don't have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

Welcome to steemit @duh-da5. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13