My ideal 'me' space

in #life6 years ago (edited)

window-1308051__480.jpg

I intrigue myself.

Sometimes I annoy and frustrate myself too.

Rarer still, I impress myself.

But I ramble.

Getting to the point, I have a study in my house that is less than functional, and more than cluttered.

I know where everything is. I like where everything is. But I have been wondering recently why I haven't created my perfect space in my space (and this is the intriguing - and, yes, annoying and frustrating bit).

A friend at work suggests that the name of the room, or at least how I and my family refer to it (ie my 'study'), has something to do with it.

A terrible name for a room. An unwelcoming name. A name which suggests all the work I have to do. When I jokingly suggested 'office' or 'home office' as alternative, he said "I think you're moving in the wrong direction."

We came up with the idea of my studio. A bit wanky perhaps, but with elements of cool. For example, if I were to suggest I might enjoy "hanging out in my study" for a few hours next weekend, I would be channeling 100% pure dork.

However, if I were to say I love hanging out in my studio?

Yeah? You see?

Much cooler.

Thankfully however, this isn't about how cool I am. I think the world has already unanimously agreed I'm not cool. I'm a lot of good things (I think): affable, friendly, happy, creative, a devoted dad, and even, I hope, nice.

But cool? Nope.

Not a hope.

No, this is about creating a useful and functional me space. My studio. A place I enjoy hanging out in my free time. With my guitars and my amp and my music. With my books. With my desk and my laptop for writing. And a cool place to sit. Maybe a cool rug so I can hang out on the floor and play games with my daughter. With my meditation cushion and Buddhist library. Sure, a spare bed. But just a bed, that I can sit on and play guitar; lie down on and listen to music. Not some stupid sofa-bed thing that isn't flat and doesn't quite fit (it's not a huge room, you see).

Now that would be a 'me' space.

It's time to impress myself and make it happen. Yes?

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Sort:  

everybody requires space be it your own personnel matter and work

That's the truth 🙂

Very good Idea to have a "me" space. I also need for myself

Yep - we all do!

It just needs a little place to find the peace.Doesnt matter how beautiful it is, only thing that matters is it should be in peace with your mind and soul

Hey Taasi
That's gold right there. If you can find it!

Its absolutely treasure Man :)

We came up with the idea of my studio. A bit wanky perhaps, but with elements of cool.

SO wanky! 😂😂😂 - but very funny, matey.

Hahaha thanks 😁

Que bonito, mucha imspiracion

nice write-up about yourself.

Thanks emmykeys01 🙃

My best space:

NATURE

Maya_Beano_Phinest_4-800x800.jpg

You can just personalize your studio however you want @drwom if it turned out that you didn't like the result just modify it again, till you are comfortable about it. No need to think if it is cool for others or not, I think it is just a matter for us being able to be comfortable with our own imperfection.

My thoughts exactly :-)

Very funny 😊.

Thanks larajt 🙃

Wow... Seems to me like you're a typical introvert... Lol. Why don't you just call it your 'Me space' then?
I'm going to my me space... That sounds even cooler if you ask me... ☺

I like it! Thanks for the idea 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09