Kids' TV shows and movies are great

in #life7 years ago

child-2433210__480.jpg

I remember back when I was a kid, hanging around in the school holidays. TV was next to worthless back then. Now I know that I'm going to offend someone saying this (calculated risk because most people won't have a clue what I'm talking about: spoiler alert - I'm 50) but TV was seriously bad back in the day. Crap. Really bad crap.

The best the programmers could come up with were re-runs of Lost in space and Land of the giants. And to their credit, some people tried on those shows to make them interesting. They tried.

But really?

That's the best you could do, TV execs?

Great shows did exist at the time - but they were never on during the day over the holiday period. Not in Australia.

  • Doctor Who. Awesome.
  • Blake's 7. Wow.
  • The Goodies. Yeah man.
  • The Muppets. I'm in awe. Still. Literally.
  • Star Trek. Well, I'm not a fan of the original shows, but probably because they weren't offered where I lived.

That's right kids. We were dependent on the local TV stations. If they didn't carry a show, we never saw it. And I mean never.

This was before VCRs remember.

And today?

It's not the effects that I'm talking about, although they're great these days. It's the writing. The character development. Has anyone here seen the Netflix show How to train your Dragon? Intelligent, funny, exciting and adventurous.

Talk about a great show. Awesome even. (How's Tough Nutt for a character. So good.)

And Marvel movies - I've written about them before.

There are other great shows, too many to list here.

I'm really grateful that people are putting effort into kids shows these days. And not just because as a dad I find myself watching more kids TV then I would otherwise choose. No, it's because my daughter is really learning from them. How to be funny. How to be a friend. How to do what's right.

And did I mention how to be funny?

Have a great day.

(Note: I don't let my daughter watch too much TV. This post is about quality - not quantity.)

✨ ✨ ✨

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

I grew up with 80's kids tv, so I had the likes of "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" and "Fraggle Rock" lol :) We did have some local programming, for example ther was a show called "Knightmare" which was a show where one kid wore a helmet that covered their eyes so they couldn't see (bear with me) and their friends would have to direct them around, avoiding dangers and monsters and such. It was great for the creativity and was made by a company who were based only a few towns over; but very few shows like that overall.

TV today with the whole on-demand services spoil the kiddies. But it's good to see that quality programming is being mantained; something they too will look back and remember as they grow.

Yep - I should have mentioned all the bad shows I suppose, but I'm fortunate enough to have never really been exposed to them 👍
Ms 8 has great taste!

Yes! My last post was art inspired by the movies The Secret of Kells and Song of the Sea. Kids movies that are absolutely captivating, if you haven’t seen them I HIGHLY recommend you do!!

Brilliant - thanks for the heads up 🙃
I'll check pout your post, too!

Grate post I agree but Istill get a kick out of some off the old school cartoons such as tom and jerry daffy and the roadrunner 😉

Hahaha
I hear ya!

I am really concerned about the spectacle of our children now, most tv shows do not educate. what he watches now will backfire for the parents as well as the child himself. hopefully tv going forward to be better again. I really like your writing, I agree. children.jpg

Thanks for your thoughts razi1998
It's important to make sure you know what they're watching - that's for sure!

Yeah TV series are awesome. I do download them to watch it in my free time. I watched Riverdale, DC's The Flash and Legends of Tomorrow, American Vandal, Alias Grace, and many more. My most favorite is The Good Doctor. TV series shows the greatness of the directors and the writers of the production team. Very relevant post dude.

Cheers ajpaulo
glad you liked it!

Very useful, thank you for sharing with us

Tengo un bebe de 9 meses y apenas logra mostrar interés por una que otra serie sin embargo es bastante preocupante algunas tienen mensajes negativos... por eso siempre debemos supervisar y estar atentos! Soy nueva en steemit pero me gusto mucho tu post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44