Finding an(other) excuse to relax

in #life7 years ago

Enlight1 28.jpg

I'm not a great one for exercise, but I am much better at it if I can build it into my routine.

Do you see where I'm going with this?

Yes - I try to ride to work every day. It's such a great way to get around and has so many benefits.

And the best part isn't even riding to work. No. It's riding home.

Glorious.

Okay, admittedly I only live a short distance from the city, and on the way to work my ride is very short. I have a kind of okay, let's just get there and get this done kind of attitude.

But on the way home (well most of the way, anyway) I ride along the river most of the way, and it's really really nice.

(I acknowledge how lucky I am.)

It takes longer that way, and I get a bit of speed up: my lungs start to work and blood starts to pump around my body - I even started singing out loud today as I rode. Weird huh? (But fun!)

And I also do something else.

On my way to work, when I get over halfway on the bridge into the city I can time my approach to the lights and so am able to cross a major road without having to stop.

You see, I'd much rather stop on the bridge - where I took the photos.

Because here, instead of focussing all my attention on when the lights will change, I am instead looking at the ripples on the water, or watching the clouds, or just checking out the ever-changing skyline of my city.

Sure, I look up occasionally, and if the lights are about to change, I start cruising down to the end of the bridge. And if not, I just keep on relaxing.

Because it's not just exercise we have to build into our routines.

IMG_3925.JPG

〰➰〰

Pictures by @drwom

drwom-01.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Fitness needs routine and devotion. If you have both then you are the champion.

I have never been called a champion before - not in relation to fitness! 100% up vote for you 😁

Hope u got best excuse for relax.. enjoy this man

the work it's health the rest never kill anybody lol

@drwom
you an amazing person... this is killing two birds with a stone...excercise while going to work and enjoying free fresh air... take pictures for steemit and have an inspiring narrative about it...way to go buddy...steemit need more of such...

Thanks so much for saying 🌞
It's nice to be appreciated!

Sure...and the steemit community are appreciative of the special one @drwom
👌👏

;) keep it up dude..we appreciate you...

Life at times requires distractions, it helps us to rejuvenate.

Thanks for sharing this,nice post. Keep on the good work

nice post

Taking a small walk daily can improve not only your physical but also your mental health.

I suggest you do it regularly, you'll be surprised how motivated you are after watching several sceneries

👍 Noted!

I was a commuter cyclist in Brisbane (and Sydney, Adelaide, London and Aberdeen) as well. Riding to/from work along the river and Brisbane's awesome bike paths is the best. Especially riding home, it gives you a chance to clear all the day's work stuff from your mind.

Plus it's way cheaper than the bus.

Yep - I love it! (When it's not raining 😁)

And I save a mozza on bus fares it's true.

Win Win Win!

The photo quizes a prisoner.

I don't know what that means 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48