Everyone needs a dog!

in #life7 years ago

I miss my dog.

I really miss my dog.

image.jpeg

There's an advert on Qld tele which shows a dude getting home. Teenagers don't even look up. No one gives a shit. And then his dog jumps on him, happy as.

I really miss my dog.

He was a beautiful staffy/kelpie/lab cross.

He was smart, and he only ever wanted to do the right thing.

One day, a dude saw us playing in the park. My dog's toy had bounced onto the road and instead of chasing it, he had sat, without being told.

Turns out the dude watching trained police dogs for a living. He said "How did you teach him that? I try and I try, but I can't teach a dog to sit instead of walking onto a road - especially if he's in mid chase!"

So yes, he was smart, but I think most of all, he just wanted to do the right thing. All the time.

In this photo you can see the skin cancer in his mouth that eventually killed him.

One of the worst aspects of that, is that my daughter only remembers her 'big brother' as an older dog, fit, but slow.

The twinkle in his eye was still there when he heard the word 'walk', but he soon lost the spring in his step...

Maybe it's time. Maybe.

'Cause everyone needs a dog. Especially little kids, and their fathers who will one day be ignored when they get home from work.

Yep. Everyone needs a dog.


Photo by @drwom

drwom-01.png

@DrWom and #teamaustralia footers by the fabulous @ryivhnn

U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

So sorry to hear that, can't imagine how much you miss him. My son has autism and some says that can be a good therapy for him... too bad my son allergy with dog's saliva !!

Sorry to hear that - a dog is a very special friend for kids..

I have two dogs. One is named zorba and the other is named domino. Thanks for sharing. ;)

Ah this makes me love my pup even more. Thanks for sharing!

Upvoted/followed

Hey sad for u....i also lost my pet few month later...i really loved him...

So sorry to hear it - sad for you too! That sux ☹️

Our dogs are family to us. One of our pups transitioned earlier this year from lymph cancer. He was a champ till the end. And even when my husband was holding him as he passed, we could feel that he wanted to stay with us but he was just suffering to much. We held him till he moved on to his next journey, but we know he is still a champ wherever his path has taken him, and we shall see him on the other side some day... I am sure you will see him again as well. It is said that when we cross over, the pets we have loved are waiting their to guide us through our own transitions with their love.

That's really beautiful :-)
Thank you

Thank you for sharing.

I miss my dog too. He died after fighting 2 months from a throat disease.
I can understand how much you have missed him @drwom

So sorry
They are so special, aren't they..

Yes, Indeed they are!

A dog in the home adds so much life and atmosphere... and ripped up shoes and holes in the garden and... but sooo worth it when you get home and they get all excited to see you!! It won't replace your old pal, but will add a new dimension to life, especially for the kids.

Thanks Bmj
I want one - my wife is hesitating...

Just rock up home one day with one... Surprise!!!!

Yeah they always are so happy to see you when you get home! Thanks for your comment and have a great day. Following you!

I like dogs very much, but I do not have them

Dogs are the best :-)

I own a lot of dogs

I wish I did!

I have a dog and he is my bests friend <3

That's so cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49