Can giving have an agenda? Sure: love.

in #life6 years ago

IMG_0432.JPG

I have a confession to make.

I realise, now my daughter is turning 9 in a few days, that I have been buying her presents with an agenda.

The presents I have bought her have been building her interest in subjects I love.

For example, I love fossils. Always wanted some as a kid. Ms 8 (soon to be 9) has an awesome fossil collection. And she loves dinosaurs and natural history and science.

I love fantasy and science fiction. I have bought her books and movies. And she loves dragons and fairies and elves. And magic. She dreams of other worlds and aliens and robots. And Magic, flying cows. What kid doesn't?

I love music. Playing music. Writing music. She loves music. Wants to play and write.

And I have taught her a love for my favourite game, an old-school rpg called DragonQuest. Dice. Paper and pencil. Imagination. Fun.

Is it wrong?

Seems like what other parents do. Give their kids a love of what they themselves love. A way of sharing, connecting. Loving.

I am certainly happier for it, and I think she is too.

✨ 👽 ✨

Picture by @drwom

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

good blog really nice writing

Lol...the ultimate way to bribe kids; it works like a charm

I dont think its wrong, as long as the interests are healthy, for example in the UK we have a heavy drinking culture and its normal for the day to encourage the son to go out drinking when they reach 18. That to me is bad influence. Music, art, and what youre doing with your child all seems healthy :)

Thanks 🙂

Seems perfectly normal, and bonus if they turn out to like the things you like XD We're all over the joint here with some interests in common and quite a few diverging, but it is fun and keeps things entertaining and busy (sometimes a bit too busy! XD)

goatsig

Thanks - I think I needed to hear that :-)

I liked your idea of giving her presents. She will keep alive your hobbies and hers too.... and you both can enjoy it

That's the idea!

Great post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63877.50
ETH 3493.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51