You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am aware of my privilege but I don't fully understand it

in #life7 years ago

You have identified some amazing points from the white perspective. I, like you, will probably never understand racism. The only times I have been a racial minority was in Detroit (which was for relatively short visits), in Senegal, and in Liberia. In my relatively short times in these places, I was never treated poorly. So my experience is zilch. Yet, at the same time, I know no one who is overtly racist. I'd hate to say what is in the content of their heart, and because I am proud to be from a racially diverse family, and have grown up with friends from many cultures, and have pursued actively friendships and relationships for myself and my children from multiple cultures... I do not come across as someone to admit your secret bigotries. You see, I am not very tolerant of intolerance. So I can remember no time in my life where someone's beliefs or physical attributes affected my perspective of them. I have tried to embody this in my work life and family life. But, I am old and jaded and do not believe that people in general will change. I see world wide evidence of groups who espouse hate for other ethnicities and religious beliefs, gender preferences, and lifestyle choices. It seems rampant. And while it's easy to pick on one political party or another, I find no evidence that any group of leaders in any country across the world is immune to these despicable prejudices. Sunni vs Shia, Protestant vs Catholic, White vs. Black, Black vs Black, anti Jew sentiment... it goes on and on. People seem to seek safety by artificially creating groups to fit within, and often the easiest way to bond people together is to create common enemies. I do not believe that those in power even work to soothe the differences. I think that a world fragmented is easier to manipulate. I think that your only hope is to recognize the sheer idiocy in believing that because someone looks or believes differently that this makes them a threat. I am grateful for the many different friendships I have, and have never found the bigoted viewpoints stereotyped and promoted by others have been true. I am much more put off by people who look or claim beliefs similar to my own. This is one of the beauties, for me, of steemit. A place where people can be people, can share their hearts, their victories, their defeats, their fears, their passions, and find others to share with them. We are like our own culture, and hopefully this will spill over into our own local worlds where we can take the lessons we learn and apply them to the people we interact with to defuse the tension and fear that people have developed toward one another, often without specific underlying events... but rather from what we've heard or read or seen on TV. Let those who love freedom and the exchange of ideas and experiences and opportunities come together and support one another so we can go forth and do good.

Sort:  

"People seem to seek safety by artificially creating groups to fit within, and often the easiest way to bond people together is to create common enemies."

I think this quote hits the nail on the head. We are being manipulated into seeking safety and belonging in artificially created groups. When we finally realise that we are stronger than ever united and that we are all human, then we'll have a good life.

Until then, the elite will rule over us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59