November 11th "Remembrance Day" 2018

in #life5 years ago

My grandfather served Canada in World War 2, saving many lives, while taking none. He was sent home to die of TB, but pulled through, married my grandmother, and raised my mother.

He was a stern yet gentle man, who loved the stars and his garden. He always supported peace over war, and didn't encourage the celebration of Remembrance Day. I honour him constantly, but today most of all. Like him, I don't "support our troops" (ie: support our wars). Today's wars have very little to do with freedom, and I actively speak out against them, and those who participate.

gramps.jpg

When Grampa died, just blocks from where I now live, his last words to me were "good son, good son". Mine to him were "I know who you are, and who I am. Thank you for everything you did for us. We all love you, and we'll never forget you."

If he were here today, I do think he'd observe a moment of silence, but not in honour of war, or those who do its bidding. Today, I remember for him. ✌️🌿🌺🌳🌼

He died in a November, 10 years ago. I miss him a lot. He used to call me "Big D!" and was always happy to see me, always glad to teach me things, to have me around. He gave me a lot of books, and nurtured my own green thumb. My grandma told me countless times that I look like, act like, and sound like him. What an incredible compliment.

DRutter

Sort:  

Very great words and a feeling..
reminds me of my passed away grandfarther...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95