Off Steemit and onto Busy / Post to learn / Four Twenty

in #life6 years ago

So yesterday I read a post by @kotturinn about using the busy front end instead of the Steemit front end I have always used. I had used busy on occasion, when Steemit was under DDOS attack or otherwise slow and unusable. I was always quick to jump back onto Steemit though once it was working properly.

I have currently been using it to read and curate posts. I noticed several cool features just doing that. When upvoting I am able to see a money amount that my upvote will be worth, the slider is also easier to use. When browsing my feed, I get a list of "interesting people" which is an easy way to find a few new users whose blogs are worth browsing through. A notification button to let you know about new comments, follows, mentions, and money transfers. It also tells you your vote power, vote value, and even the exact date you joined instead of just the month. The single best thing that it has as far as browsing and curating to me, is the bookmark tab. Finally I can bookmark a post for later without having to comment on it or somehow otherwise make notation. I am certain there are many more features I have yet to discover and appreciate yet, the extras I have noticed have made getting used to something new worth it! As far as posting goes it is very similar. There is an editor bar, that starts open unlike Steemit. I doubt that most people on Steemit know about the editor tool bar just for lack of seeing and clicking it.

Learning is on thing I enjoy. I have made a goal to at least learn one new thing every day. I often ask people what they learned today. So I can steal some knowledge from them and if they ask, I can share the one thing that I learned. I used to post much more about crypto, which required me to do research and double check when other people commented with questions. When I was doing that I knew much more about blockchains, new coins, and the teams that are creating them. I want to get back to that, to exchanging information about what has become my biggest hobby.. Blockchains. SO expect that in the near future. This carries over beyond just the subject of blockchains. Anytime I aim to make a post on Steemit it requires that I do some searching, research, and exploring. All of which I learn from. Even if my posts only make 1$ of 5$, its good to make money to learn and grow as a person just by sharing the things I want to share anyways.

drpuffandstuff5.png

Obviously for a character named drpuffnstuff, 4/20 is a grande holiday. The grande holiday even. So I went out had some fun in Las Vegas. Smoking my share, watching some live music, and enjoying a weekend with some friends. Sometimes I get so caught up in the daily grind of work, bills, and the small pleasures that I forgot how nice it is to just take a break. To have nowhere that I need to be, or nothing that I have to do. All of us need to escape monotony once in a while, and I escaped mine in a hazy cloud of smoke this weekend.. and I had a blast.

Woot woot,

@drpuffnstuff

vegas.jpg

A Praying Mantis that shoots fire out to music I found along Fremont St in Las Vegas
Sort:  

I didn't know about the bookmarks tab in busy. I will check that out. seems like a very useful feature.

Nothing like 420 in Boulder Colorado.

Peace.

That sounds like it would be a good time. I always have fun in Colorado. Ive been wanting to go to a concert at the red rocks.. an excuse to come up and explore of something.

I've been meaning to swap to busy as well, it seems slightly better overall. Its all about them details, really hoping they add some organizational tools so we can sort through posts easier.

Happy 420

The only thing I can be mostly certain of in that regard.. is that they will do it before Steemit does it at this rate lol. They have at least put in more work this far it looks like.

I'm taking a break from all the work I need to do and began actually reading some stuff from the people I follow. That lead me here. I tried Busy before when Steemit was down, but I didn't like that the editor didn't provide an instant live view of what the actual post will look like, so I never went back to it and chose to switch to the mirror of steemit, steemitstage.com instead, when steemit wasn't working. Perhaps it deserves another look?

Now I better get back to sifting soil for the new garden bed before it's too late to plant!

And, they do indeed have a preview now. I think it's worth a look. I'm still on Steemit on my mobile but I should see how it works on a phone too.

Spring is here, get that garden sifted lol. Thanks for swinging by!

Looking forward to more blockchain info from you.

I love busy @drpuffnstuff but I haven't had any luck with getting votes from the busy bot lately. That's an added bonus for sure. btw, I lived across the street from Container Park when it was being and was there to help guide the praying mantis into place and shot some fire. Then I moved into the Ogden. One of the most chill spots in Vegas. I spent a lot of time there with Tony Hsieh and the gang.

Ohh nice. Ya Las Vegas is a good time. Living so close to the madness seems like it could be rough though lol. Fun, but rough!

I didn't even know busy had an upvote bot. Like dmania and zappl I guess..?

Busy is awesome :D

Nice life hack to share the knowledge lol. It's good that Busy displays the 'mentions'. That's something sorely missing from main Steemit interface. Was even thinking of creating something on GitHub to display them.

Hmm looks promising ,need to this out ,maybe real deal ☺

Hey @drpuffnstuff

I've been wanting to get on board with busy, but when I go to sign up, it seems as though you have to create a completely new account. Is this the case or can you export your keys over? In my mind it seems logical that you can export, but I've yet to actually talk with anyone about it, or seek advice.

I too try to learn something new today. On this day, I learned that video editing has come a long way for n00bs. I worked all day trying to get my newest vlog just right, and it still seems amateurish at best. After hours of learning the editor with a trial account, They stamped a nice giant watermark directly in the middle of the video. Nice little trick to get people to drop an annual payment. I did indeed purchase the damn thing, but it has nice reviews, and a pretty large plethora of features that a new user can learn quickly. I figure if I do well enough on Steemit with my videos, it will be worth the investment.

PS. I'm happy to hear you had a nice 4/20. That just so happens to be my birthday ;)

Much love,
@futuremind

Yo, you should be able to just use Steem Connect.. Which is the safest way to login to other places. Are you on a phone or on a pc? I was able to login using it so just look a little harder and you should be able to find a way to do it.

Also, I have been wanting to get Adobe Character Animator and make a live stream using that lol. It looks like a really fun program to know anyways. I haven't tried editing, I can imagine there are lots of aspects to learn,

The last time I tried to use SteemConnect it didn't work, and prompted me to sign up. I am on a PC. I am sending you this message through busy right now, because it worked! Awesome, I can't wait to become familiar with this platform! It does seem a little more "retro" and smooth. I like it. Hopefully there is a night mode, because the bright white is a bit much on the eyes.

Adobe Character Animator does have some good reviews. I have yet to try it though. I ended up choosing Filmora, which is actually pretty nice, and user friendly for someone who has no knowledge in editing. I do feel it's slightly overpriced at 40 dollars for a year activation, but hey, nothing seems to be cheap anymore.

I hope if you decide to try out Adobe, it works well for you. Peace brother.

Haven't stopped using it since I first found it a few months ago, I hope more people realise how much better it is than Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76