Our First Day In Seattle - Aquarium, Pike Place, and more!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We're heerrreee...

@alovelymess and I arrived in Seattle yesterday! We left Idaho around 8:15 am, and it had already snowed a couple inches the night before. After shoveling the van out, we hit the road. For the most part they were clear, but after we got out of Spokane, Washington the interstate was pure white and we had to go super slow. We counted 6 wrecks on the way over because of it, one of them being a rollover, and another being a semi truck stretched all the way across the road. This increased our drive by an hour or 2, but it was still fun. Here's how our first day went.


Suprisingly, most of Washington looked flat. Under we got a little further into it, and we came up to a beautiful view, the Columbia River Gorge. I have never seen anything like it!
IMG_20180214_120651.jpg

IMG_20180214_120520.jpg

IMG_20180214_120634.jpg

IMG_20180214_120341.jpg

When we got to Seattle, we first went to the Aquarium. It's kind of a small aquarium, but it was fun. They had a tank where you could touch what I believe was a type of coral? When you put your finger on it, the spikes wrap around it. It was pretty cool!
IMG_20180214_142749.jpg

IMG_20180214_144517.jpg

IMG_20180214_150000.jpg

After that we went to Pike Place Market. There was so much to see here, we had no idea where to start! I'm not even sure we looked at all of the floors. It was pretty cool seeing the fresh veggies, fish market, and the artisan craft booths. Also kind of funny seeing all the people buying flowers because of Valentine's Day, lol.
IMG_20180214_160819.jpg

IMG_20180214_162334.jpg

IMG_20180214_160146.jpg

While we were at Pike Place, we found a Russian Bakery (Piroshky Piroshky) that looked delicious! @alovelymess had a Poppy Seed Cinnamon Roll, and I had a Chocolate Hazelnut Cream pastry. It was pretty good, but if they were warm it would've been better. It was pretty cool to watch them make the pastries!
IMG_20180214_163136.jpg

IMG_20180214_163507.jpg

After that we headed over to Rachel's Ginger Beer. They make all of their ginger beer with some pretty awesome flavors. I sampled, Blueberry, Original, Passion Fruit Vanilla, and the one I chose..Caramelized Pineapple! It was SOOO good! ...we may have to go back.
IMG_20180214_164728.jpg

IMG_20180214_165245.jpg

Stay tuned for what we did today!


IMG_20180214_152055.jpg


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information. I will definitely go to this
place one day. This is the first post of you which I read and I loved it. I am going to read every past and future posts of you. I hope every
post will be as good as this one.

wow nice photography
i like to travel very much
thanks for sharing it
keep it on

Awesome pics!! My favorite are the fist one of the gorge and the one insider the market of the produce. Looks like you're having fun which is so cool

Thank you! We are having a blast. The river was gorge-ous (how was that, @uglysweater?), and the market was super cool.

What a fun trip! I especially love the photos of the river. And that fresh fruit looks incredible. Have a great time. I look forward to your next post. Be safe!

It is! Thank you, it was beautiful! Will do!

amazing photos, in a beautiful city and a pleasant trip

your post and comment are very

Glad you're having a fun trip!

Us too! Thanks! :D

Wow! Pike Place is definitely a spot on my bucket list! So stoked you got to visit.

I used to work at Seattle's Best insde a Borders bookstore (when those were a thing) and I used to always look at the stock photo on the wall of that "Public Market" sign and promise myself one day id go.

Thanks for the little universal reminder!

Us too! We watched plenty of Youtube videos before we came, and a lot of them was about Pike Place! It was so cool! I hope you make it there!

Me too as a coffee lover Seattle is a bit of a Mecca to me haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39