My Adventures In Reupholstering Barstools

in #life6 years ago

Have you ever made something like new again?


Usually when I get things to sell, it has a motor or something I can fix for cheap. This however, was completely different. I picked up these barstools from a local that had posted them for free on marketplace. Luckily I was the first one to see them, otherwise they would have been gone quickly. When I arrived she also gave me some material she was going to reupholster them with. I gladly took it, because up close they looked kind of, well...free.

I have never reupholstered anything, so this was a whole different ballgame. After taking off the black cover piece I started stapling on the other material.

After tugging, stretching, and pulling for what seemed like forever...One cushion was done. I must say, it looked better than I thought it would.

Oh, have you ever heard of an electric stapler?! I had never heard of such a contraption until my wife's uncle let me borrow his. Turns out a normal staple gun doesn't do well with the particle board that was under the cushion, which induced a special type of rage in me.

After it was all said and done, I think they both turned out great! What do you think?

IMG_20180417_182809.jpg


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

You could always try turning this into a career, but I must warn you that I knew a family in Minnesota that was in the furniture reupholstering and repair business, and they had pole barns packed with projects over time.

That would be awesome, actually.
I can imagine! Once in awhile I gather too many projects myself..

Thanks for sharing, I also do not know how to improve post, because my own post also get less attention. But I have to keep my spirit and keep learning to achieve success. If other people can do it, I also have to. The work of recycling is good, yes .. if it still can be used, for what in waste. Thanks again and good luck @drobinson

Nicely done. Are you going to keep them now that you have invested so much tie into them? 🐓🐓

Thank you! I doubt it, haha. We have barstools already.

We did this just before leaving in order to stage our house for selling it. We picked up a small dining table and chairs for dirt cheap at an old church thrift store. We re-upholstered the 4 chairs and after the house sold, we sold the set for $100 more than we'd paid for them! Not a huge profit, considering the amount of time it took and we actually bought the fabric, but since it helped us to sell our home, it was definitely worth it!

That is awesome! I always love hearing stories like that! Id do it again if I had to, but getting those wrinkles out isn't fun, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80