HOW TO - CHANGE YOUR CAR'S FUEL FILTER!

in #life7 years ago

Has your vehicle been lacking power or getting bad gas mileage?

It may be time to change your fuel filter!

Recently I decided it was time for a tune up on our Jeep. The gas mileage is pretty shitty, even for a V8. It's also had some problems starting. It would have a hard time unless the gas pedal was pressed down while turning the key. When I ordered brakes for it I also ordered plugs, wires, distributor cap and rotor, air filter, and fuel filter for a tune up. Today, I decided to tackle the fuel filter. It's recommended to replace your fuel filter every 30k miles, so it doesn't end up like mine did. Some vehicles have the filter inside the tank, I got lucky and mine is an in-line filter so it's outside of the tank.

Here's how I did it!

Relieve the fuel pressure. After you turn your engine off, fuel pressure is still in the lines so it's ready for the next start up. If you remove the filter while the pressure is still in the lines, it will spray everywhere, probably including your eyes. One of two ways to do this. Locate your fuel rail on the engine and find the schrader valve. Kind of looks like where you'd put air in a tire. You can stick a rag over it ans depress the center of the valve with a screwdriver, or the 'safest' way is to use your owners manual and find where your Fuel Pump Relay is. Remove it, then start the engine until it dies. That will remove the pressure as well.

Locate the fuel filter. If it's outside of the tank, it should be easy to find. Mine was above the rear axle, in front of the gas tank. I have seen them by the driver side frame rail as well.

Remove Filter. I removed the bolt that was holding the strap around the filter on, it was a 10mm. Again, I got lucky and got the easy filter. Most newer lines have a 'easy disconnect' on them, which requires a special tool to remove (cough FORD cough). On this particular one, just squeeze each side of the white tabs (better pic below) and pull on the black end to remove it. Have rags ready, you will lose some gas out of the filter and out of the lines. Watch your eyes!

IMG_20180101_124437.jpg

Transfer tabs. The new filter does not have the white tabs, so I had to transfer them over. The black end on the hose slides over this and locks into place, this is what you had to squeeze to remove the hose. Just twist them a little and they will slide off, one may need a little persuading with a flathead to come off.

Compare. When you reinstall the filter, it's important which direction it goes on. You'll see an arrow on the filter. You want to arrow pointing the way the gas is flowing. Example: the gas is flowing from the gas tank to the engine, so point the arrow towards the engine.

IMG_20180101_125407.jpg

Remember the 30k miles thing? Mine was way over due. When I tipped it over, black gas came out...yes, black.

Reinstall. To reinstall it, simple push each hose on until you hear a small click, thats the white tabs locking into the hose. Then put the strap back on and tighten the bolt. When you start the vehicle, you may want to switch it from off to run (don't actually start it) a couple times to build the fuel pressure back up. Otherwise it'll just crank for a few extra seconds.

And of course after you start it, make sure it isn't leaking!

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 61.0% @kaylinart christmas upgoat, thanks to @gringalicious
Want a christmas boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @drobinson to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

My car died one time. I thought my engine was gone. Had it towed to a garage. It was a fuel filter that cost a few dollars. Thanks for reminding me to have it checked. It’s something I forget to check, but man, can it give you problems if it gets dirty! Thanks for the great info!!

That will do it! My pleasure, thank you!

I changed mine recently and it looked like it came from hell

its bad when you face these situations by road, i have a problem with starting every morning because of cold it jams everytime.

Haha, that's pretty much how I felt about mine. On vehicles in the past I've never had it a completely different color. What do you drive?

Excellent post, for its originality and very instructive, with a good explanation of how to change the fuel filter. Thank you and happy day. Now I will follow to be aware of another post

Thank you for the kind comment!

Well I am so glad I have you to do that haha!! Great job!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61