Columbia River Scenic Overlook - Washington!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Ever heard of the Columbia River?

I hadn't until we were on the drive to Seattle a couple of weeks ago. We were driving along I-90 when we saw a sign that read "Scenic View: Next Right"...hm. Alright, we like scenic, lets stop. It appeared to be a big parking lot, however the gate was closed with a sign that said "closed for the season." We decided to walk over since we couldn't drive the van over to it. When we got to the edge of the walkway....holy goodness. Other than my wife @alovelymess, I had not seen anything more beautiful or breathtaking. We stayed around for about half an hour just walking around and looking. It was mesmerizing.
IMG_20180214_115610.jpg

IMG_20180214_120341.jpg

The rock formations were so cool to me! It reminded me of a mini grand canyon, haha. Of course I've only seen that in pictures, so I'm probably way off.
IMG_20180214_120520.jpg

IMG_20180214_120841.jpg

It was pretty cool they had a couple of signs telling about the geological history or this area, and the roadways back in the day. Earth history has always interest me.
IMG_20180214_120651.jpg

IMG_20180214_120644.jpg

IMG_20180214_120701.jpg

After we got back in the interstate, we crossed over the river via the bridge in the background. That was also pretty!
IMG_20180214_120830.jpg

If you ever want to visit this scenic stop while you're traveling in the Pacific Northwest, it is located right between Vantage, Washington and (ready for this? I lol'd) George, Washington off of I-90. I've learned there is a few beautiful spots near Portland Oregon that is also the Columbia River, so we'd love to see those someday.

Capture.PNG


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

It's a real photographer I like your excellent natural photographe thanks for sharing your story and post it really awesome

What a view and those rock formations are crazy.

Right? Thanks for the comment!

I love these photos! Resteemed:)

Thank you! You have to see it!

Beautiful pictures the rock and river are very beautiful

Thank you! They really are.

Yeah you're welcome

That's crazy, I thought the Columbia River was one of the more famous rivers like the Missouri, Mississippi, Ohio, Colorado, etc. I thought it was in that category -- crazy to hear otherwise!

You took some great pictures. Thank you for sharing! I would highly recommend that you visit Hood River, OR if you like the Columbia River. I'd be happy to tell you more if you're interested!

https://www.google.com/search?q=hood+river+oregon&rlz=1C1CHFX_enUS493US493&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwizhqe2iM3ZAhUCsFQKHVlUBYcQ_AUICygC

Well, keep in mind I didn't know anything outside for Tennessee until I was 20, so my knowledge of the Northwest was pretty...undeveloped. Haha.

Thank you! We'd love to! Thanks for the link.

Haha, that’s fair. I can’t remember what I did and didn’t know at any age anymore!

Beautiful photography. Really nice. ✌

Wow, such rugged beauty! And the skies are so blue. I haven't traveled to Washington yet. Perhaps a road trip will be necessary in the future. Great pictures.

That first picture is absolutely gorgeous!

Beautiful photography

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83