Buying And Reselling Yard Sale Items!

in #life6 years ago

What's your favorite hobby?


Mine is buying and reselling. I always love when yard sale season comes around, because you can get all kinds of things for dirt cheap! Sales are just starting up here in Northern Idaho. I'm sure within the next couple of weeks yard sale season will be completely up and running. With the few i've been to so far, I have been able to snag some cool stuff for resale, here are some of those things!


I found a couple of push mowers that needed some work for $35. Originally I thought they just needed a cleaned carb, but turns out they were too far gone and the needed new parts. I decided to sell them as is since putting that much money into then would eat away my profit. Even though they were running rough, I doubled my money at $70.

I came across a sandblaster that had not been put together yet, as it was all still in the box for $25. I will admit up front I hate working with pipes/tubing. I brought it home and assembled it all and realized it was leaking pretty good at the pipe connections. I took it all apart and resealed it, and the stupid thing was still leaking some. Luckily I was still able to double my money by selling it for $50.

Sometimes things are free! I noticed a box full of copper wire sitting in the corner and asked how much they wanted for it. They said "oh, that's the free pile!" After I got it home I recycled the copper wire for $7, then I found these electrical components in there. I listed them all for $15, and they were sold same. The $22 was 100% profit!
IMG_20180409_095519.jpg

Yesterday I only found one yard sale. Big bummer, but it paid off. I found a killer deal on a set of Dewalt 18v cordless tools. This set includes a circular saw, jigsaw, reciprocating saw, flashlight, drill, 2 batteries, 2 home chargers, and 1 car charger all inside a plastic case for....ready? $35! Dewalt is a great brand and I don't think I will have any problem (more than) doubling what I bought them for. I have not listed these yet because I do need to wipe them off.
IMG_20180414_104332.jpg

Also yesterday we were waiting for a train to pass when I decided to check for more yard sales. Just as I opened the page, this ad came up for free bar stools posted 1 minute ago. I quickly messaged them and was the first one to ask about them. For some reason everyone and their mother wants barstools here. She even gave me some vinyl I intend to reupholster them with. Oh, both barstools were completely free! I should be able to get $30 for the pair when i'm finished with them.


Until next time, that's all folks!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

WTF?!?! $35 for the Dewalt set?!? Holy crap! I need to start hitting up the yard sales on this side of the line. That is far more useful than selling it in my opinion.

He'll sell it to you for $70. ;)

Lol, you should! I agree, but I have access to those tools already so I don't have a big need for them.

@rigaronib, hahaha. You missed the (more than) part.

I have friends who scrounge yard sales and (especially) estate sales to sell things on their Etsy website. It's amazing what sells these days.

Estates sales are hot stuff here. I agree!

Nice info. Maybe i can recommend this to my uncle

Hey, thanks!

You sell a usefull tool.
I Apreciate it guys..

this is great post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99