You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IDEA ECONOMY MENTAL MODELS: checking your assumptions

in #life7 years ago

Great post! I have been telling a lot of young people these same things. I got a bachelors of music degree in 2005, but in reality I could do what I'm doing without a degree. Plus, I wouldn't have had 20K in student loan debt. The new economy is definitely here, but it still seem the majority doesn't realize it

Sort:  

I think that is the big problem, if you think about it, music is probably the last thing you should be learning in a school setting.
I love Derek Sivers' story how he basically blasted through Berklee's curriculum with some clever hacks he has a great post about it:
There’s no speed limit. (The lessons that changed my life.)
Thinking about Derek's post now, that one is also about assumptions people hold: why does an education need to last 3 or 4 years, I love how he says "the standard pace is for chumps..."

the way the whole concept of school is designed basically kills creativity:

Awesome, I'll check it out

found the video of Derek Sivers too, great guy! Will cover him too I reckon:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54