To everyone who is not a whale, let's see if we can't get something from this experiment: Read onsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So the theory of the whales refraining from voting, is that all of the little people's votes should be worth more. I have noticed a bit of an increase in my voting power, so here is my proposal: Let's do our own experiment. I have been systematically going through my followers list, and anyone with a post right now is getting a hundred percent vote from me. Why don't we all give this a shot? Instead of worrying about what they're doing and not doing, let's start DOING ourselves.

Let's spread the love people, make this experiment work for us if it can.

And if it doesn't work out, well...



That's not an angry meme, that's a funny meme (and a clever meme if I do say so LOL)



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire


Sort:  

Agreed-- I far prefer to take a positive approach with this and do my part by finding and upvoting good content and interacting with it. It's time to stop focusing so much on everything we're unhappy about, and put some of that energy towards the parts that DO work... like community building.

That's the way I'm feeling about it. It took me a minute, I think we were all hit from left field at first, not knowing what was going on this time, lol. But once I caught up, well the sunny side is where I prefer to live ;)

Yeah lady lady!! Loving it!! Bring the beef to the table as they say in Argentina!! :0)

Is that what they say in Argentina? LOL Good to know, haha!!

Lol, i know. You dread to think!

Why thank you! (You're my inspiration of course ;)

Done and done :) That I can get on board with.

Awesome! I just followed you (I thought I was following you lol) and voted up your most recent post as well ;)

Much appreciated :)

Exactly and you have summed up what I ante o say in just one paragraph, still I like my posts and I will invite you to a look at it, at your leisure of course, :)

Cheers :) !

I will definitely come and check out your post, thanks!!

Your idea is nice and this could work. I will visit my followers' blogs and upvote them! Thanks @dreemit!

Awesome! I will check out your blog as well :)

Thanks @dreemit! This is awesome! I am still a "very little" minnow, but I can grow and become a... can I be a sea turtle? (LOL, just making it lighter! Wish you a great day!) Muah

Sea turtle, hee hee! That made me giggle, and that is surely worth a follow ;)

I love laughing and being positive about life and whatever it presents to us .Even with my panic disorder, negativity "shall not pass"! (Thanks Gandalf for the nice quote!) =)

I love the Lord of the Rings ;)

I upvoted you and it spurted out 10 cents - not seen that before

Nice!! So maybe they're onto something, if everyone would stop focusing on them and start focusing on one another, we might see the point they're trying to make :)

I am someone who prefers to hear hard truth and real opinions rather than polite pretense or bullshit. I originally came from Liverpool UK, where that is normal behavior for us lol!

Money has a way of doing this with human beings.
"Money does not change people, it reveals them" - Henry Ford.

This one of the main reasons why I love trading in crytpo currency on Poloniex.
I love chatting with the traders because there is no pretense with them.
Everyone is there to make money and so no one hides that truth.
For me this is wonderfully refreshing. In one way they are more honest than many on here who pretend that the money is not important to them.
There is nothing wrong with wanting to earn money.
Money is simply a tool we use to exchange things of value. This value is based on what price you place on the item you are offering against what a person is willing to pay for it. Somewhere in the middle an agreement is made.

I know there are problems on Steemit at the moment but honestly I am too concerned. People have forgot that we are still in beta.
Steemit is historically unique and as such no one really knew what would happen when they started it.
As time has gone by certain things have come up that have revealed the system is not quite working as everyone thought.

Just recently, after 20 years of research and experiments a scientist has proven that "fairness" is literally built into our very DNA. Interesting that.
But then surely we dont find this too surprising. Thus if we feel that the Steemit platform is unfair it will absolutely fail. It is a certainty.
I can see that the whales are trying to address this and this tells me that they actually care about this platform. It would be far worse if they did not care.

My only criticism would be that it could have been better organised.
This has revealed that Steemit needs some kind of News Noticeboard and a related bot telling us when something is on there. People like to be informed.
Its a respect thing,
For my own personal view, I am more frightened of my Reputation score being affected by a down vote than the money lol!

Yes, that's exactly what I said about the rep, I worked damn hard for that, I do not want to see it move backward...in fact I don't want to see it stand still either haha!
Ugh, I hate pretense. I know there's a time and place for politeness, but I much prefer just saying it like it is. And yeah, I like earning money here, it's part of the fun of it. It's not the most important thing, but it does make it nicer, there's no doubt about that. I've been content at around five dollar range for my chapters, even though it was once twice that much, i do have to say that being taken down to a buck is rather disheartening, but like you said, we're still in beta. And I don't give up on things very easily, much rather ride the wave and see where it lands me :)

Stay strong, you are definitely a valuable asset on here.

People just hate to see a "downvote/flag" anywhere. This experiment was all under the radar (majorly) until a couple of whales decided to police the others that weren't complying which resulted in the flagging/downvotes.

I personally have been tired of these rants since forever and if only people could have this same mindset as yours, things will be a lot better.

Thanks! I admit that getting hit with ugly downvotes out of the blue yesterday sucked ass and I was a bit disheartened by it myself, feeling like once again crap was happening that had nothing to do with me, but affected me anyway. But give me a minute and I'll find the bright side :)

I trust you'll be fine soon!

I've stayed away from posting anything deep(that might attract whale votes) since all these began. Got a downvote and immediately checked for my reputation. So no deep posts from me for now till further notice. I guess that has helped me deal with the situation better. There's nothing to be bitter about.

Like I said earlier, I trust you'll get over it and be better soon! 😊

Oh, I'm already over it, it's all good, trying to turn the negative into a positive my friend ;)

Ah! Great!!!

...however than we vote for the person that is nice to us instead of a good article.

True, but this is just to see if we can make a difference with our votes. If it works out, then we can use the same logic to vote for good articles :)

I don't get it. I do already vote for good articles.

And so do I, but the focus the past couple of days has been on the whales and the downvoting, rather than what their experiment is supposed to be accomplishing. People are frustrated and voting less, I'm just shifting that focus to what we could be accomplishing. But if you're already doing it, then your focus is where it should be :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42