You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much Money Do You Need To Buy Happiness?

in #life7 years ago

I don't have a single lesbien tendency, yet I would still prefer to look at that woman's boobs then that graph ;)
My husband and I used to play a game in college called "What will we do with it?" We were dirt poor at the time, so fancy dates were out of the question causing us to be creative. One of our regular dates consisted of buying a lottery ticket, grabbing a twelve pack of beer, hanging out in the car (to add that rebel "open container" element) and talking about all of the many things we were going to do when we won the twenty million (or whatever it happened to be at the time).
On one of these occasions, when we got to the part of who we were going to do what for, I was talking about paying off my cousin John's house and giving them a half a million on top, and something occurred to me. What if the struggles of life were a big part of what held him and his wife together? What if instead of this huge help I imagined I was being, I would actually cause the downfall of one of the cutest relationships I knew of?

It was actually the last time we had that particular date, because for me more than half the fun of it was imagining what we'd do to help others. The possibility that we could cause more grief than happiness shifted my perspective to the degree that I realized we were already playing a better game called "What can we get out of life without money?"
Incidentally, we've never stopped playing that game, lol! And I'm thinking I might make an entire post about this...if I do, I'll give you credit for the inspiration.

Sort:  

haha graphs not a turn on eh?
I think you instinctively reached the same conclusion as A LOT of research on the issue:
1 - pass a certain point money has diminishing returns in happiness
2 - spending it on others makes us a lot happier than spending it on ourselves
3 - the anticipation of a reward (eg, money) gives us far more pleasure than receiving the reward itself
I didn't get to the 3, or any of the criticisms of these views. It's sort of difficult writing a joke or punchline every sentence or two and still trying to stay informative. Every comedy piece I write I get a little worn out and just end up posting it prematurely lol

That's strange, I don't think this showed up in my responses. Yes, I agree with three, lol. And I can see how it would be tough to balance comedy writing with informational pieces. I think it's tough to write comedy pieces period. I can be funny...usually in comments, but that's brief. Having to be "on" for an article would be a whole different thing. Which is why I'm always impressed with those who do it such as you ;)

Edit: Nevermind, it's there, I just missed it somehow ;)

haha I like your writing
probably wait until it's near done and binge read it =)
I'll keep voting on each chapter as they're out though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48