You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Cure for Road Rage... and Thinking the Worst About Others

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Okay, that was an excellent story. I am such a baby, I teared up. That is so true though, it's just a shift in perspective and yet it's enormous. If you think that the person who just cut you off might be in a hurry to get to the hospital rather than just an inconsiderate jerk, suddenly instead of being angry you're concerned for them instead.
I think it's an analogy that would work with many situations. I think most people are decent at the least, pretty great in general. I've recently had an epiphany as far as all of the problems around here. I was asked why I was on a certain side and I immediately said "I'm not on a side" then I was asked why was I defending..we'll call it an organization, if not on a side. I thought about this and realized it wasn't the organization, it was some of the people in the organization that I had met and liked very much, that's what i was defending.
I had taken the time to get to know these people without thinking of them as being a part of anything, just potential friends.
I wish more would do the same on both sides of the fence. Since I'm friendly with people from both sides I can say with confidence that at least some of them would get along very well without the preconceived notions.
Sorry, that's my ramble for today.
As i said before, love your posts, and not just the funny ones ;)

Sort:  

Thanks! And I agree with your sentiments entirely. If people just started with the thought "you are trying to help", then it would put things in a completely different perspective. There might still be disagreement on a chosen method being used in order to try and help, but it would open the door to better conversations that might lead to tweaking of a method to make it even better.

Exactly. It would be far more constructive at the least. I don't find finger pointing and accusations, and especially pre-judgments to be constructive. It's akin to children jumping up and down and shouting while they have their fingers in their ears. We should have evolved to a place where we can have reasonable discussions I would think lol.
Anyway, hopefully tomorrow I will be making a post about the new cover for my book Reborn, which was painted by @therealpaul. It's magnificent, he recreated the prologue. steemit bringing artists and writers together in collaboration ;)

Edit: I just re-visited donkeypong's post and was pleasantly surprised to find that there was in fact a reasonable discussion. That's excellent, perhaps we are evolved enough ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86