My Creepiest Delivery for DoorDash

in #life5 years ago (edited)


My instructions for this delivery were- Please come up to the sixth floor, my door is next to the elevator.. so I had the mistaken belief that I would be using an elevator to get there...




...yeahhhh, no. Those brown doors are for an elevator that hasn't been operational since probably the sixties.




So up the creepy flights of stairs I went,



pushing open creaky old white doors that opened into long eerily silent hallways..



I called Howie at this point, just in case I was climbing to my Doom.



He has a location tracker on my phone



for just such occasions.



I wish I took a picture of the woman who greeted me, she was probably late twenties, wearing pajamas and slippers from another century- and 'greeted' is a generous term, she cracked open the door and snatched the goods with drug fogged eyes.



I made it out without incident, but the location is now on my Hell No list!


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Whoa, that sounds really creepy! Glad you made it out unscathed! The imagination of us writers can really make life interesting sometimes, can't it? : ) I've found myself in similar situations and it can really boost the blood pressure!

Haha, I absolutely attributed part of my shivers to having such a vivid imagination! That place would make a perfect haunted house for Halloween.

So happy to hear from you! I definitely need to catch up on your amazing poetry ☺️

Ooh, even before I started reading, I was crossing my fingers that you had some kind of location tracker - plus mace or similar!

I really do need to carry pepper spray!

That looks hella grim!! I would have ran away and eaten the food myself!

I was definitely tempted! Not even a tip for hieing my butt up six flights of haunted house steps!

I wonder if that building was grand at one stage or if it was always creepy O_O

My daughter is sitting in the room with me so I showed her all the photos and she said on viewing the first one "That's definitely a haunted hotel" and as I summarised the photos and captions she kept reiterating this, then asked if you died, I said no coz you just wrote the post, and she said something along the lines of whoever murdered you must have written the post XD

Glad you made it out all right though, I'd actually be more concerned about falling through the floor or having something drop on me in a place like that O_O (drug fogged people are also a concern but easy enough to avoid unless they're aggressive)

Haha, your daughter is astute! It's a good thing most people tip on the app (except her if course, no tip for that marathon) and everyone pays with a card cuz I'd definitely worry about carrying around cash going to some if these places!

As much as I prefer carrying and using cash wherever possible I totally understand that sentiment in some of the dodgy areas!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 15.94% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05