Paralyzed by Choice

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Image result for too many choices

There are so many choices, activities, things to do on a daily basis, the result can often be paralyzing. The 21st century has made so much information and activities available at our fingertips that it can be overwhelming.

The convenience of having so many choices available can often make it difficult to make any choice at all. It can be easy to get trapped into analysis paralysis if you aren't careful and it is something I struggle quite frequently.

The experience of going on Netflix is a prime example of this. If you don't have a clear idea of what you want to watch, and just want to peruse in the hopes of finding something, a few hours can easily pass without ever deciding on a program to watch.

Image result for netflix paralysis
Image Source

Likewise, I find that if I don't have a clear plan for my day, I can easily spend hours aimlessly browsing the web, and engaging in impulsive activities that ultimately aren't the most efficient use of my time.

And by the end of the day or week, I'll have a ton of things that I intended to do but never got around to starting, let alone finishing.

Reduce Choices

As much as possible, reducing the choices that are available, even if it is self-imposed, can help lead to a more productive decision-making process. Too many choices can lead to feeling overwhelmed, spending far too much time analyzing and not enough time acting.

Image result for clarity
Image Source
When you begin a day with 10 choices of activities to engage in, it can be a tiresome process arriving at any decision at all! If I am considering hiking, writing, music, basketball, gardening, a bike ride, a trip to a local brewery, or a park hangout with friends as my preferred activity for the day, I usually will waste an hour before I make a choice. And with that many choices, I sometimes forget all of the options I've given myself!

And by that time, many of those activities are less realistic. If I finally decided on a hike, it might be too late in the day to attempt one.

However, if I'm deciding between just three choices, it takes a lot less time to arrive at a decision. The options are clearer and easier to debate.

Of course, whittling down your options aren't always easy, but it can be helpful to prioritize options based on the ones you are more likely to engage in.

Eliminate All or Nothing Thinking

When it comes to big decisions in life, it can be easy to fall into the 'all or nothing' dilemma, whereby we tell ourselves we either have to make one choice or the other. Often times, there may be gray areas that allow us to go half way.

Image result for all or nothing
Image Source

I am currently considering other career options, and have thought about jumping into another field. However, this level of commitment can be risky without being fully sure that it is the right fit.

As a result, I have been seeking out job shadow opportunities, I have volunteered with programs that interest me, and am generally seeking out networking opportunities with people in the field to gain more information before taking a plunge.

I am still admittedly unsure of my next step, but by seeking out more information without having to fully commit, I am reducing the cloudy haze of uncertainty one step at a time.

Create Routine

I'm sure you know by now the importance of creating a routine. Having a morning or evening routine that you follow strictly can reduce decision paralysis because you already know what you're going to do.
Image result for routine
Image Source

I've been starting my mornings off by going for a run, watering the garden, and making breakfast and morning coffee. I want to continue to add to this routine, when possible, to add in things like a daily meditation, a daily writing session, etc.

Things are trickier when your days are varied, in terms of scheduling, but a positive morning routine whenever possible creates an intentioned start to the day.

Having choices is usually associated with freedom and for good reason. Without any choice, you are essentially a prisoner to whatever circumstances currently occupy your life. We need choices to make our way in life, and decide what is best for ourselves. But often, the adage of 'less is more' is true.

Sort:  

I'd say the best way is to do some very deep introspection. Look @ oneself in the proverbial mirror and ask yourself what do you really want? Like what do you really want? Say you had $1 billion dollars. After you bought 5 private jumbo jets, 20 lambos, 3 years long mega party and your own island. You did all that stuff. After all that what do you want?

If you can't find the answer try being helpful to someone who would really appreciate it.

Thanks for that! Yeah, I believe I would want to be out in the country, growing my own food and helping others do the same. Something that truly benefits the world would be great.

mgazdik Marian Gazdik tweeted @ 08 Sep 2015 - 12:11 UTC

Wow: @netflix enabled 1/2 * ratings & they dropped by 11%! Why? Paralysis by choice. @neilhunt gizmodo.co.uk/2015/09/the-re… http://t.co/hGjCFEnCNf

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31