Mary Claire's Letter...

in #life7 years ago


Image Source

Dear Humanity,

It has been a while since I last wrote to you, not because of lack of things to say, it is more of finding myself guarding the thoughts I share. It has been difficult for me not to be able to be just a 100% me.

I can almost hear your gear-thoughts churning- boo hoo, the sheltered, rich, pretty girl is sad.

Oopsie, my language may have surprised you. I know you have always portrayed me as the timid, frail, religious girl with the perfect life. And you've painted this picture of me for a reason, I make it so that I am perceived as such. I am also expected to be always supportive of Cris, who is doing important stuff.

As excruciatingly painful it is, I do what you expected of me. I conforme- smile shyly behind a fan, dress conservatively, do the church bidding.

Of course, doing whatever takes to my fancy is also an option. But you make it so fudgely hard to take this route, as you are quick to judge those who are different.

Will it be so bad to laugh boisterously whenever I wish to? Can I not get married and not get children and still be treated with the same respect as the average wiveless, childless man?

Imagine having the liberty of dressing up prudely or provocatively and not have people make a big deal of it. Chase after your dream career, and should you excel on it then you wouldn't be made to feel guilt for not being the home-maker type.

I noticed that most superheroes are male. Would you agree with my theory that maybe these men have the time to go all over the world saving people and all, because they have a woman looking after all their needs and supporting them? Tell me, what happens if I want to be the superhero instead? Similarly, if pretty dresses and make up and jewelry makes me happy, will you just let me be?

Click.

I realize that my empowerment is only limited to, and entirely up to- me. I can be whatever I want to be.

Love Lots,

Mary Claire,
March 1887


Dear Mary Claire,

Thank you for your insights, these are remarkable! Don't worry, I got this.

Respectfully yours,

Humanity 2018


Follow @bayanihan to view the work of exceptional PH talents!

Visit @sndbox page and learn about the amazing incubator for creatives and communities.

If you would like to support initiatives on community building and enrichment, kindly check out @steemph, @steemph.cebu, @steemph.iligan, @steemph.davao and @steemph.manila

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness and @ausbitbank who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Type in the box the witness account, example below for @precise



dreamielygif.gif




Sort:  

Beautiful! Upvoted :)

Loved this one @dreamily:) ,it's true you can be whatever you want to be !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83