Trump grabbed America by the pussy and it seems like the majority of America enjoyed it

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I don't live in the US and I've only been there for a brief period of time. But I do interact with US on many levels. As far as I know Steemit founders are US citizens and although Steemit itself is a decentralized platform, running on top of a blockchain, it's (still owned by) a US registered company.

Disclaimer stated, I will briefly jot down my opinions on these elections.

The whole "choosing between two bad options" conundrum reminds me blatantly of a similar situation we had in Romania a decade ago. We had to choose between a communist and a nationalist. We chose the communist. But who actually won was irrelevant. What was relevant was that we stopped, as a nation. And when you stop as a nation, you never actually stop, you go backwards. You feel like you're not moving, but in reality you're in a swamp sucking you in. Corruption flourished, economy went down and it wasn't until 5 years later that we were able to chose something better.

What brought us to that conundrum? What made us face a decision between two utterly incompetent and corrupt politicians?

Well, the same things that brought US to today's situation. Complacency. Whining. Constant projections of guilt and negativity onto "the others". Lack of accountability. Cowardice.

Nations are not "fixed" at the elections level. That level is just a symptom of what's going on. It's not the cure.

Nations are "fixed" at the individual level. They are the sum of what everybody does, and even more than that. It's not that Trump is an idiot (I honestly don't know if he's an idiot or not, I don't know him in person). It's not that Hillary is a liar (again, I don't know her in person). It's that each and everybody, collectively, is allowing idiocy and lies to creep in.

What's on top of a collectivity is never different from what the collectivity is made of, down to its most basic components.

If I were an American right now, I will stop looking at the polls. I will stop looking at the media. I will stop looking at everybody else for a few days.

The only person that I will look at, as deeply as I could, would be me, in the mirror. Incessantly, for hours, until my eyes will hurt.

How much Trump and Hillary is in that image?


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua

Sort:  

wow, i'm impressed, not that you needed my approval. you're someone who gets it, at least this part. most people can't see it. there has been a break down of the will to do the right thing. most seem to actually believe the Dane and Crowley, that all is will.
morality has been falsely deemed a superstition.
there is an objective correctness based in wisdom.
thank you for your post.

BRAVO! upvoted and resteemed! I am now a follower! Keep up the great work! Steem on! ♨👍♨

Thank you :)

I agree with you. If we want our nation to change for the better then we have to stop and think about what's best for the world. In doing so we will come to realize that the problem all along was in ourselves.

To change the world we must be the change

I am absolutely shocked by this outcome. The US has just had its Brexit moment. I have a feeling the world will be feeling the effects of this election for years to come... will be interesting to see how all this sudden geopolitical uncertainty will play out in the days and weeks ahead.

With all due respect to your shock, I tend to think that the impact will be less powerful than we think right now. The candidate who won emitted a message that was fit for the majority, that's all. He just played the right cards for the people to vote him. Obviously.

But that doesn't necessarily mean he will actually do what he said.

Or at least I hope he won't . Because if he does, there's no blockchain on Earth to receive that amount if immigrants :)

Here's hoping you're right! I'm just glad this whole crazy election is behind us. I'm going to do my best now to just put it out of my mind and get back to focusing on living life.

I agree with the OP the US had to decide between two very bad candidates. But if as you say Trump was able to identify with the majority, the US is in very bad shape, he is a xenophobe a proven liar (he says he is at least twice as rich as he really is) he has a hostile and divisive speech. I don't see anything good about him, yet I really hope I am wrong, too much is at stake here. On the other hand I think Hilary was even worse, so it comes down to how could the US have been reduced to have to choose between these two candidates?
The markets are down, as happened with Brexit, I bet a lot of people lost a lot of money which could be a part of the aims of these elections and referendums.

Its no tso crazy. Philippines elected a president that years earlier said publicly he wished he was first in line to gang rape a nun because she was so beautiful. (a beautiful nun was actually ganged raped).

So America go what they wanted. COngrats.

Dems shouldn't be upset either, they allowed Hillary to side line Bernie Sanders who NEVER would have had the corrupt SHIT the worl now knows about Hillary. So good for the Dems right?

This is gods will right?

sadly yes.

Absolutely love the title of this post!

He, he, thanks, I kinda felt it was also true, but I might be wrong...

this title lol!

We had to choose between a communist and a nationalist. We chose the communist.

Ouch. There's evidence of nationalism doing well for people in some respects; communism...i dont think so

Well, that's the way it was, at that time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55