My Abusive Father

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Growing up, I saw how hard my mother worked. She worked on the farm, cooked for my 6 siblings, my father and myself. she never complained. She gave her all...she slaved. It irritated me. Then one day the beatings and verbal abuse started. My father would slap my young brothers and bang their heads on the wall, call them names and tell them how stupid and ugly they were, just like my mum. Never were the insults directed to me... I was his favorite.

It has taken me 25 years to realize that he was, and still is, an abusive monster. I urged my mum to leave him, she couldn't. they were traditionally married and if she left, he would take everything from her, including the children. So she stayed. she endured. she did not want her children to not go to school because that's what would have happened if she had left the monster.
She moved to the countryside to live in their matrimonial home, and she had peace...well, at least for a while. Everytime my father goes to the countryside, she cringes, the days that follow are hard. she'accepted that she will forever have to keep up with the insults,but his verbal abuse toward my younger brother is something I cannot live with. My mum might have made the decision to stay, but my brother did not.
I'll be going back home in a month, and I'll take my brother with me. She might have decided on her destiny, and I have decided to try and salvage the little that is left of her. !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84