EURO 2021- 2012 flashbacks to Euphoria

in #life3 years ago (edited)

It was all about football these days, inn't :). Oh well. Sometimes those who lose look better than those who win. I must admit that prefer English gentle style of playing compared to pushy game of Italians. So next time, England, even if it's not coming home this time.

Few weeks ago, many Ukrainians, my co-patriots joined in watching the United Kingdom (UK) and Ukraine compete in the EURO games. It’s the first time Ukraine has made the quarter finals of the Championship. This game took me back to 2012 when the same teams Ukraine and UK were playing in Donetsk stadium.

I remember the euphoria of EURO 2012, the different nationalities came around for the games conducted in Ukraine as that year we shared hosting the championship with Poland. It was so right for general atmosphere that Loreen's Euphoria song this year also won 2012 Eurovision Song Contest.

It was such great cheerful time. I took a train ride from Lyiv, 450 miles/724 kilometers to Donetsk. The whole car I was in sang Chervona Ruta and other folksongs going to the game. As I look back now, I remember how no one could have imagined the turbulence which has rocked Ukraine since.

As I watch these games now, I find I still believe the country can replay it if we have this broad vision of how we can be again. The song High Time to See Ukraine describes it all and how I still envision Ukraine.

The famous names may change Wayne Rooney and Konoplyanka before, Harry Kane and Dovbik this time, but EURO is keeping its enterntainment role.
Looking forward to more fun and more UK- Ukraine games.

So long

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56