You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hurricane Season? - Not in Chile, Where We Never Have Them

in #life8 years ago

Panama, where we are escaping to, is the same way. No hurricanes, plenty of earthquakes, always the possibility of a volcano.

I visited Chile (for a music festival) many years ago and loved it. Reminds me of the Oregon coast a bit. My wife and I both prefer cooler weather and would have gone there, rather than Panama, if it were not for the fact that all of her family is in Panama.

Sort:  

I cannot stand the climate in Panama either, although it is my second favorite spot in Latin America otherwise. Living in Boquete is better but what can one do there other than retire or sell hot dogs? Chile is a great place to live.

I hear you. Boquete is nice enough but (and I may get flak for this but here it is...) I'm not giving up my life in the US to go live with a bunch of Americans... Even if the climate is somewhat nicer than where we are at (about 1,000' above sea level, but with views of the Pacific). When I was in the Navy I was always the guy who hopped on a bus and explored whatever town I was in while the overwhelming majority of the guys stayed at the base club or went solely to places frequented by, and catering to us.

When it comes right down to it, I genuinely love the Panamanian people. Even if there are some cultural things that I wish might be a bit different.

And we are opening a restaurant (a fonda) and we have a working cattle operation. I'd sell hot dogs, though! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65