You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media: Interaction or Noise, Life or Death

in #life6 years ago

I have been off Steemit for two days. Since about 7 months ago that has not been the case, as I really began to appreciate and look forward to my morning 'steemit time'. However, because of steemit I have let other social media fall on the wayside and I am told, as a modern artist, that is bad. We must post to FB and insta and such daily! Well, I haven't.

For me, as an introvert and self diagonsed hermit, the internet and social media is a good thing for me in a way. It gives me that interconnection in a way that also feels safe in that I can stay home and putter about and not feel the need to be as much out and about, yet that can be bad as well.

I use it now as a portion of my day. I take my morning time for steemit and my daily sketching. This is both work and some joy (and frustration lately as it has not been loading properly or I've triple commented etc) but it is what it is.

I figure we are obligated to live in the time of our present and social media is part of that construct so I shall oblige it. However, one must try to have some control (though probably illusive) of their days, so I relegate it to portions of my day. My garden, my studio/play time, even my sit and stare watching birds, waves, my animals whilst sipping coffee/tea is also a time slot given to my days. So really, proportion in all things is good, as well as days. So , if we do not feel the need to be ON social media all the time all day long, then it can be a more positive thing, I think. True, some will tell me to increase sales or make more 'exposure' more time spend the better, but again, when needs perspective and proportion and my unplugged time each day is far too important to me to give over for some 'possible' increase in wealth or status.

I can't wait to see some of the other answers you have got. As far as the seedy part of the world, it has always been there, it merely takes different forms. The human animal is a creature of dichotomy, wanting both to love and hate and this manifests itself in some very extreme ways. What can one do? C'est la vie and C'est la Social Media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32