Just in Case

in #life6 years ago

My mother had a “Just in Case” approach to life, or maybe since she was a Scout leader for so many years I should say her motto was “Be Prepared”.

Need a tissue? She had one. Pen? Yes. Safety pin, cough drop, flash light? Yes, all of that and more.

And that was just her purse!

I would go to a slumber party where the other girls brought cute little totes. I would arrive with two large grocery bags full of 'just in case' things. In case it was cold, in case it was hot. Paper, pen, a book to read - just in case.

I wasn't convinced I'd need so many things but enough times it happened that I was glad to have that extra item that I adopted that approach for myself.

Then I got married and found my new husband had conflicting ideas. I was packing for a short trip we were taking when he walked into the room and stopped short.

“What is all this?” “What do you mean? I'm packing.” “Yes, but what is all this? How long do you think we'll be gone?” “Well, it might be cold, or it might be hot, it might rain. I might break a shoe, need extra batteries for the alarm clock...” I stopped at the look on his face.

“You know there are stores where we're going?” “Yes, but...” “You know we can get anything we forget, or need, when we're there?” “But...” “No, we don't have room for all of this. One suitcase, that's it.”

Over the years we found a middle ground. He agreed that some of my 'just in case' ideas came in handy. I realized I didn't have to take so many clothes for an overnight stay. But even now I'll find myself wishing I'd packed that one extra thing.

On the other hand I have a friend who uses what she calls 'intuitive packing'. She says that before she leaves home she just meditates a little and then collect things that pop into her mind and takes them along with her. And the things, no matter how unlikely, come in handy either for herself or someone else. I've seen this in action and it's pretty amazing how it works.

So, which approach to you take? Do you follow the 'just in case' method, or the trust that you'll have all you need it approach? Or something entirely different?

photos courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

My husband and I have a similar kind of balance, I tend to over pack, he has come to a point that he accepts that about me. Sometimes he aids me in over-packing. He has a just in case bag that is also packed, it contains cold weather and rain gear.

You go to some pretty remote places, I think a 'just in case' bag is a really good idea!

@donna-metcalfe You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Congratulations @donna-metcalfe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64828.66
ETH 3511.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37