You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I see homeless people...

in #life7 years ago

Well it went like this! I let go of some of my stupid pride. I went to see my father who had basically abandoned the family after a nasty divorce. I told him, I wasn't looking for any kind of money or handout. I told him I was real close to Living in a cardboard box under a viaduct. I asked if he had any ideas about any kind of job he could help me get.
He got back to me in a couple of days, and had set up and interview for me to work at a Car Rental Company that was right down the street from where he worked. I went in and Talked to this Jolly - Big - Bohemian guy about becoming a Car Porter. He said yep - he could use some help. One stipulation however. I would need to cut off that long Hippy Pony Tail hair that I was so proud of for so long. That decision took me about 2 seconds, and a 10 minute trip down the street to get that hair cut. I got the job, and worked my way up to office manager eventually. One of the best jobs I ever had, and that Big Bohemian became one of my best friends for life. I transformed from Hippy to Yippie along with just about 95% of everybody else in that generation.

Sort:  

Where are you from great story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61746.46
ETH 3447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50