RE: Making a difference

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Can we really make a difference in someone's life? Yes, absolutely. A hello may brighten someones day but I find it odd to claim it could change someones life. Let me proceed by saying I agree with the author of that post on the idea of spreading love and compassion.

However, what I'd like to briefly talk about is what ind of impact you make on someones life. If you're doing nice things for them and helping, how much of an impact are you actually making for the positive. I had a friend once, she used used to use the people around her for driving around so often as an excuse to get gas money from everyone. now I'm not saying you should'nt cover gas if someone giving you a ride, but asking for 20 dollars a day from everyone you gave a ride home from school to is a bit absurd, considering the drives were typically under 10 minutes away. Regardless of the absurdity of it, we would continue to give her the money thinking it was helping her out. As it turned out we were only enabling her to not have a job by making her friends pay for almost everything she had. So I guess what I'm saying is, be loving, compassionate, and kind but don't do so much that you enable bad habits.
Farewell my fellow steemiters for now. "I left love, laughter and in truth. and wherever love laughter and truth abide, I am there in spirit." -Bill Hicks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73