Procrastination

in #life7 years ago

I find myself procrastinating more than usual. I am doing so by writing this post. I decided my motivation to put my current chores off until another time offered insight into human motivation. Why would you subject yourself to penalties when they can easily be avoided? 5D8F06C3-5014-4FFB-89B4-C041FE4237A4.jpeg

I should be cleaning house, among quite a few other things. I delay my obligations simply because my priorities are different. Truth is, I enjoy writing more than I enjoy cleaning. Age has taught me to tolerate clutter.

My priorities have drastically changed since joining the Steemit community. Frequent submissions are much more important than I would have predicted.

I know myself well enough to realize this need is not about rewards. Beating averages and reaching goals do play a part, but only as a small part being a part of the system. ( I know I used the word ‘part’ 3 times in the last sentence). Since I am procrastinating, I will write better tomorrow.

The point is; Steemit is an important element ( you can substitute ‘part’ for ‘element’ if you prefer a shorter word ) in the formation of my self worth. I feel better when I do better. I want today to be a better day than any other day this week.

In this mindset, I compete against myself rather than others. Competition is good. Comparisons with others is not good.

I am procrastinating my chores to achieve goals. My priorities put a clean house below an additional submission today.

When I am finished I will make some music for later. When words become tedious, art and melody are pleasant.

Here is today’s beauty.

29429C29-B19E-42D7-AD31-CBA97990B3C2.jpeg

Sort:  

What you say is true with me and I love competing with myself because I always win. Have a great day.

I think those are paradoxes that we always face in life, I am right now in that position where I feel more connected with the people of steemit than my personal environment

Wow.
Competition is good but comparison with others is not good. I have learnt something great from your post, that word has giving me alot of insight about things.
I love your post "procrastination"
You've got my supporT

@doctorjohn You put it all in perspective here. I Love Steemit and what it does.........

i learn so much from you post john, the way you tell us about competition is good and comparison is not good, that word is simple but giving me a lot of insight.
you are amazing and so inspiring john,
keep it up

Procrastination is actually dangerous. It is always prominent to set your priorities right to avoid wrong result, poor outcome and regret.
placing the cart before the horse most times leads to destruction because the cart cannot carry the horse but it is the other way round. It is always advisable to do the right thing at the right time. A stitch in time saves nine.

yes @doctorjohn, your work is important that its reward.

Luar biasa jhon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65904.42
ETH 2618.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67