My Knives #17 - when Hephaestus give you lemons

in #life6 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,

This post will be about a knife I did for a friend of mine that help me a lot over the years. He's a graphic designer who has been solving a lot of my (and Perinas) design problems for almost a decade.

Among other things, he did our wedding invitations and he made my logo all pretty.

525081_3648477523303_1976084766_n.jpg
And, we haven't really paid him a lot - well, if I'm being honest, we haven't paid him a dime.

I did promise him I'll make him a knife, but for one reason or another, his knife kept being bumped down.

And along comes the greedy bastard Hephaestus and kicks me in the balls two times on the same build.

IMG_20181006_180958.jpg
Inkedcrack_LI.jpg


The first one was ruined, but on the second one I decided to make a knife out of it no matter what.

And so began my struggle against the limping bastard.
There is a saying Bladesmiths don't make mistakes, they just make smaller knives but this one was a bit tricky.
Oh, and I was so pissed off that I hardly took any pics along the way.

Here it is just after the HT, and before I even noticed the crack
IMG_20180728_164955.jpg


I had to grind out quite a big part of the blade our and was left with a completely different profile and a handle that was way too long.
Here it is after the rough grind and the test etch
IMG_20180825_140751.jpg


And here is where all the rest of the pics would go if I had them
No-image-available.jpg


Anywho, I've managed to bring it to the end, and a kinda strange looking all-around knife emerged.

It was a struggle but I think I'll call it a win no matter what Hephaestus says.

IMG_20181005_143959.jpg

I met with Darko yesterday and officially gave him the knife and he was quite happy. I think he gave up on ever getting one, so it was a bit of an extra surprise.

And that's it. Thanks for stopping by and see you soon...

Sort:  

Wow, that's a gorgeous knife! It's amazing what you can do even with something that has a crack in it.

Thanks, I don't know that it's gorgeous, but it will serve the purpose ;)

Amazing! I think the shape really is unique ! I love it :) Quite a journey it has gone through and I love your tenacity of bringing it into a finish <3

It's called best-I-can-do shape ;)

Sometimes you just have to push through and hope for the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84