My Knives - #06 Kiritsuke

in #life7 years ago

Hey guys,

this is one I did for a friend of mine. She wanted to give her brother a cool gift for a birthday, so she asked me to make a knife for her/him.

It was a bit last minute order and I didn't really had much time to finish it. So I knew from the start that no fancy fit'n'finish will be an option.
On the other hand, I had a full freedom in design - which is always fun.

I actually made two of them - one is still hanging on my to-do chain with heat treatment done...

IMG_20171223_144727.jpg

I decided to go with a rustic look and a robust design. And this nice looking Kiritsuke-type knife is the result.

...

Stats:
Blade: High carbon steel - repurposed
Handle: Sucupira scales with blue G10 liners and brass pins

IMG_20171223_144747.jpg

As mentioned, I didn't have much time so I didn't do a proper photo session - this is just a few pics I took with my phone.

I do have a few pics of a build so I'll drop them here as well.

An old band saw getting a new life - just cut out
IMG_20171026_164450_085.jpg

Have to get them hard so a hot-bath in my forge is a given
IMG_20171103_175300_050.jpg

Annealed and ready for HT
IMG_20171104_164911_536.jpg

Just after heat treatment

IMG_20180106_113421.jpg

Almost done at 400 grit
IMG_20171118_163456.jpg

And a few pics of the final product

IMG_20171223_145723_678.jpg
IMG_20171223_144727.jpg

Thanks for droping by.

If you have any Qs feel free to leave a comment down below.

Also, if you would like to have one of my knives don't be shy in asking - I'm always looking for a new fun project.
Oh, and I do accept Steem as payment ;)

Sort:  

Tip already broken just like with Spyderco Civilian.
This must be a good knife 👍

LOL, you know the saying - knifemakers don't make mistakes, they just make shorter knives ;)

I love your collection what a beautiful knief.

Thank you ;)

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-01-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thank you @nichas - much appreciated!

Very cool! I just bought a hand made knife from @freedompoint,and it is way better than anything in the store. Do you sell any knives on Steemit?

Thank you so much - really appreciated.

Nice to see some handmade knives aficionados ;) And congrats on your new knife - it looks nice.

As for selling, I haven't actually offered any knives here on Steemit yet. The thing is, I'm a bit backed up with orders so I don't have much to show right now.

I will surely offer a few knives in the future, so keep tuned ;)

Thanks!! I love it!

Wow, you sound busy, haha! Ill stay tuned for sure!

cool post. I liked how to make knives. very interesting. good post.

Thanx. glad you like it.

You got a 8.38% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @docsmith!

Try it with a Irish Stout next time!

I don't drink beer - so your spam is a double fail

You got a 2.09% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @docsmith!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

did you really prepared it its wonder for me i have try something same please visit my post if you have your precious time
https://steemit.com/food/@farah-kamran/spicy-vegitable-chicken-speggity-or-recipe-7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30