New life for a Camp Lantern with Missing Battery Pack

in #life6 years ago
.

My friend was going to throw away this LED lantern because the battery pack was nowhere to be found.

I looked it over and saw potential. The original pack was 6V and it made me wonder how it would perform as a USB light. I was pleasantly surprised at what I discovered after rewiring the unit.

I believe the LEDs are fed regulated voltage, because I tried this at several different voltages from other power sources and there was ZERO increase or decrease in output. However, when I got just below 5 volts, it began to flicker. It seems that 5 volts is the absolute lowest voltage it can run stable at.

As it turns out, this is the very voltage of almost all USB battery banks. They maintain a constant voltage throughout their cycle due to the needs of the devices plugged into them, as well as a DC - DC converter in most of them.

The thing also draws so little power, that I have to press the button on some of my power banks in order to get them running. The USB powered fans I run draw 250mA, but this lamp, I think, draws quite a bit less. I don't have my meter, but I would venture a guess of about 100mA.

This is a pretty commonly available light, so you might be able to do this too if you have lost the battery.

Sort:  

Congratulations @docchocobo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @docchocobo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32