Looking around again...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Whew, it's been a while since I was in here. Looks like I need to clear out the cobwebs. Let's just say that six months ago or so, I got permission to use and camp on an entire mountain of a hill. So, that is what I did. Life took me away from blogs and video posting for quite some time and into the wilderness. I was camping every other day and had little to no interest in parking for any reason behind a computer desk.

Still, I guess it's time to consider blogging again, as my family has been wondering where I went off to. Also, I was asked to not camp there anymore as they are about to clear the woods up there and build McMansions for people with more money than sense. Great, the last hill that was untouched will now be removed. Sad end to a beautiful place. Only the little city park will be left.

I figure, until I find a new place to hike, metal detect, and camp, I can put in a little blog time for now. So here we are again.DSC_3578.JPG
This was the first time I camped on the empty slab where a well house once stood up there with a proper tent. What a great night that was! I remember the sounds and sights of deer and coyotes moving about out there. I took many photos both during the day and during the night there. It's so depressing now to think that those times are gone.

DSC_3596.JPG
It was truly a vast place with open areas and wilderness just a small distance from the edge of town. When you were up there, you were truly disconnected from the lights and sounds of the places below. Owls and other things made their presence known.

In the beginning, I had only a tarp and a small day-hiking pack that barely held my camera and kept me covered. But soon, I acquired a good pack and enough gear to make my trips up a bit more comfy.

Tent.jpg
This was the first time I camped. What you see is what I had.

DSCN1546.JPG
DSCN1555.JPG
DSCN1554.JPG
IMG_1323.JPG
Later, as I added more equipment, the level of comfort changed, as did my experience up there.

Eventually, my friend decided he wanted to start coming up there too, so he invested in good equipment and a monster was created...

IMG_1853.JPG
BEHOLD! ROPE CITY!

And then, there was last camp...
IMG_2879.JPG

The caretaker of the land showed up with a well engineer when we were getting ready to break camp and told us of the new construction coming to the hill. It would be a liability issue with all the machinery and other goings on up there, so it was time to find greener pastures. Though I am sad to see this come to an end, there are other places that can be scouted out. We always took care of the place and left it better than we found it, so as far as I am concerned, it mission completed. What a great adventure I've had over all that time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @docchocobo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97