5 lessons I learned from my parents

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes by observing how my parents are interacting between each other, what challenges they have and what comes on their way teaches me really important lessons. That’s why I want to share the most important ones.

Lesson #1 — Do what you love

Come on, really? Yeah.

By watching how my mom is frustrated with her job, I always keep repeating that to myself. The job has to be a true expression of you, and not something that will kill or suppress it.

In fact, I believe your job is not that important at all. What is important is the level of satisfaction that brings this activity to you, and the amount of energy that you put in order to achieve something magnificent that can help others.

You can always be a lousy programmer and still earn a bunch of money, or you can be a great programmer and create a product that literally changes the entire industry (Steemit is a perfect example of this).

Lesson #2 — Work should not be the most important thing in your life

Looking at my stepdad, my mom and grandparents I can confidently say that your job is not what you’re living for. At least, not what you have to live for.

I believe the main purpose of this whole thing called life is to help to change other people’s lives, to make an impact on somebody, to connect and cheer somebody up in tough moments, to make memories together. That’s it.

A job and the money that follows it, is just a way to accomplish all of the things that I’ve mentioned above in the excellent fashion. But guess what, sometimes you do not need any money to change somebody’s life.

Quite often a nice word from my mom is everything that I need. I love her, and I know she deserves a lot more than she currently has.

Lesson #3 — Teach your kids the right stuff

No matter where you’re from, we all have pretty similar education system in terms of basics. And, to be honest, I don’t really think it is a good education.

Why all of the main skills, habits, life lessons we have to learn by ourselves? If you look at our school or even university/college, you won’t find any subject on:
-how to be a great communicator
-how to create and maintain extraordinary relationships and friendships as well
-how to set goals and achieve them
-how to make a difficult decision in your life
-how to have a healthier lifestyle (most of the time teachers have no idea of what the phrase “healthy food” even means)
-how to be happier even
-how to learn faster
-how to manage your time. The majority of people have to figure that out through countless experiments of different systems.
-how to read and understand people, especially the opposite sex
-how to read a book effectively because there are lots of techniques that can quadruple not only your speed but also your level of understanding the actual book
-how to become financially free, which basically is to set up a habit to save money, invest and reinvest some percentage of your salary every single month
-how to create great habits to simplify our lives, and how to get rid of the habits that kill our lives. Nobody have ever explained to me how habit is formed, until I read the book “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg
what books to read. We all are programmed to read fiction, which is awesome to relax from time to time. But the types of books that can move us forwards in our careers and our lives we never got touch to.
and a lot more, it’s just impossible to count everything here :)

I have written that long list because all of that have never been told directly by my parents or by my teachers in whatever the place I’ve been. Fortunately, I am observing the behavior and types of mistakes that they are doing, and just simply try not to repeat those.

Lesson #4 — always have multiple streams of income

This one comes from my mom and my grandparents. All of them have taught me that you always need to have money work for you all of the time. Never rely only on your primary income source.

I took that advise, and extended it quite a bit by again learning from great minds, such as Tony Robbins, Jim Rohn, Warren Buffet, Brendon Burchard etc.

Lesson # 5 — have fun while you still can

I’m not that kind of person that is intensely serious but sometimes I may work a lot more than I need, (actually study because I’m still a student).

Therefore, when I have free time I may not always hang out with my friends. That is definitely not awesome, and the reason for that is because friends is the most important thing in our lives. Thus we cannot neglect it.

Conclusion

To sum up, I do believe that lessons that your parents are giving to you directly or indirectly are really important. You can save so much time and energy in the future that you’ll thank your folks for that. Besides, don’t forget to pay close attention to their choices in different circumstances. That may teach you even more.

Sort:  

Hello, dmitrydao! Best wishes for a very enriching experience here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Life is good

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @dmitrydao!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2931 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

@dmitrydao, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Hi
great article, I'm also new, let's develop STEEMIT together.
I followed you, I hope you will follow me.

Hi Dimitri,

I enjoyed reading your post because it is so interesting. I have a similar interest in travelling, I hope we can exchange stories about our travels in the future 😃 😃 😃

Hi. Thanks. Definitely. You never know when our roads can cross)

Hello from Ukraine! I'm happy that our people are interested with new technologies and developments

Hi. Nice meeting someone from Cherkassy.
We have to admit, Ukrainians are the best devs in the world.

And meny other "best's" Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

And many other "best's" Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit!!!

You are awesome and I love to travel too and love your photos too.

You are awesome and
I love to travel too and
Love your photos too.

                 - joeyarnoldvn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi @dmitrydao! It's nice to see you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77